#callresponse

Indigenous Art Walking Tour

Ursula Johnson, Cassandra Smith and Cease Wyss, Ke’tapekiaq Ma’qimikew: The Land Sings, grunt gallery, 2016.

Photo: Merle Addison. Courtesy of the artists.

Jaime Koebel, curator of Wapikwanew and founder of Indigenous Walks, will lead a guided walking tour through downtown Ottawa, sharing an Indigenous perspective of various social, political, cultural, and artistic spaces. The Walk includes a tour of a number of Indigenous art exhibitions happening in Ottawa, where a number of artists will be present to speak about their work. The tour will end at Arts Court, where tea and bannock will be served and participants will have the opportunity to chat more with various artists from the shows and curatorial staff. This Art Walking Tour provides a dynamic and unique way to experience all three of these important exhibitions and enables participants to share in open, respectful dialogue on the topics these shows collectively speak to during this important time in Ottawa.

The tour starts at Central Art Garage, ends at Arts Court with tea and bannock, and, includes the following exhibitions:

It’s Complicated

Wapikwanew: Blossom

#callresponse


Strategically centering Indigenous women as vital presences across multiple platforms, #callresponse is a multifaceted project that includes a touring exhibition, website, social-media platform, and catalogue. Beginning with a series of local art commissions by Indigenous women and artists whose home communities span the country, the project is geographically expansive yet brought together in the physical space of the gallery and the virtual space of the Internet. Envisioning the initial commissions as a call to action, each artist has invited a guest to respond to their work. The resulting works are exhibited together alongside a series of engaging public performances and events.

#callresponse is produced in partnership with grunt gallery and generously supported by the {Re}conciliation initiative of the Canada Council for the Arts, the J.W. McConnell Family Foundation and The Circle on Philanthropy and Aboriginal Peoples in Canada. Additional funding support from the British Columbia Arts Council. Presentation partners include BUSH Gallery, Emily Carr University of Art + Design, FADO Performance Art Centre, Kamloops Art Gallery, OFFTA live art festival, the National Arts Centre, and the Native Education College.

Presented by SAW Gallery in partnership with the NAC’s Canada Scene.

 

Use the hashtag #callresponse to get involved in the conversation!

Menu

#callresponse

Visite à pied d’expositions d'art autochtone

Ursula Johnson, Cassandra Smith and Cease Wyss, Ke’tapekiaq Ma’qimikew: The Land Sings, grunt gallery, 2016.

photo : Merle Addison. Gracieuseté de l'artiste

Jaime Koebel, conservateur de Wapikwanew et fondateur d’Indigenous Walks, animera une visite guidée dans le centre-ville d’Ottawa, offrant une perspective autochtone sur divers espaces sociaux, politiques, culturels et artistiques. La promenade comprend une visite de quelques expositions d’art autochtone qui ont lieu à Ottawa, où des artistes seront présents pour parler de leur œuvre. La visite prendra fin à l’Arts Court où seront servis du thé et du pain bannock. Les participants auront l’occasion de discuter avec plusieurs des artistes et conservateurs. La visite à pied propose une façon dynamique et unique de vivre ces trois importantes expositions d’Ottawa et permet aux participants de s’engager dans des dialogues ouverts et respectueux sur les sujets qu’abordent collectivement ces événements à cette époque déterminante.

La visite commence au Central Art Garage et se termine l’Arts Court avec du thé et du pain bannock, avec les trois expositions suivantes :

It’s Complicated

Wapikwanew: Floraison

#callresponse 


Stratégiquement centré sur les femmes autochtones comme présences vitales de nombreuses plateformes, #callresponse est un projet multidisciplinaire qui comprend une exposition itinérante, un site Web, une plateforme de médias sociaux et un catalogue. Amorcé par une série de commandes artistiques locales par des femmes autochtones et des artistes issues de communautés dispersées à travers le pays, le projet géographiquement étendu, est réuni dans l’espace physique de la galerie et l’espace virtuel de l’Internet. Les commandes initiales ayant été conçues comme des appels à l’action, chaque artiste a demandé à un invité de répondre à son œuvre. Les œuvres qui en ont résulté sont exposées ensemble et accompagnées d’une série de performances et d’événements qui engagent le public.

#callresponse est produit en collaboration avec la galerie grunt et généreusement soutenu par l’initiative {Ré}conciliation du Conseil des arts du Canada, la Fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell et le Cercle sur la philanthropie et les peuples autochtones au Canada, avec un soutien financier supplémentaire du Conseil des arts de la Colombie-Britannique. Les autres partenaires sont : la galerie BUSH, l’Université d’art et de design Emily Carr, le FADO Performance Art Centre, la galerie d’art de Kamloops, l’OFFTA Festival d’arts vivants, le Centre national des Arts du Canada et le Native Education College.

Une présentation de la Galerie SAW en partenariat avec la Scène Canada du CNA.

 

Entrez dans la conversation avec le mot clique #callresponse !

Menu