Kyrie Kristmanson

Accompanied by Warhol Dervish Quartet

This event has passed
Kyrie Kristmanson © Marine Pierrot Detry
"Kyrie's direct yet otherworldly style seems like folk music from some isolated mountain or urban canyon. It will take you places you've never been." Robert Everett Green, The Globe & Mail

Kyrie Kristmanson is a Canadian singer/songwriter, trumpet player, guitarist and scholar of medieval music. Classically trained, Kyrie began composing at a young age and toured the Canadian Folk Festival circuit as a teenager. Public and college radio stations widely promoted her first two self-released albums and this earned her the Best Young Performer’s Award at the Canadian Folk Music Awards in 2008 and the Colleen Peterson Award for song writing in 2009.

Fascinated by Canadian composer Patrick Carrabré’s classical arrangements of her songs for Origin of Stars, Kyrie recorded the new album with a string quartet. Modern Ruin, released in 2015, was met with universal acclaim as being the most “audacious and unusual contribution to the independent music scene of the year”. She has been on tour with various quartets in Europe ever since while preparing her next album set to be released in 2018.

Founded in 2007, the Montreal-based Warhol Dervish is an unorthodox chamber music collective, gathering together some of the most interesting and creative musicians in Canada. Pioneers and visionaries, Warhol Dervish is made up of earlymusic HIPsters, new music specialists, ardent 19th century romantics, pop collaborators, rockstar wannabes, meditators and yogis who seek to move the chamber music concert experience through the 21st century.

video: Kyrie Kristmanson - Modern Ruin
Kyrie Kristmanson - Modern Ruin
Kyrie Kristmanson © Marine Pierrot Detry
Menu

Kyrie Kristmanson

Avec l'ensemble Warhol Dervish

Cet événement est passé
Kyrie Kristmanson © Marine Pierrot Detry

Kyrie Kristmanson est une auteure-compositrice interprète canadienne, également trompettiste, guitariste et spécialiste de la musique médiévale. De formation classique, elle compose à un âge précoce et tourne sur le circuit des festivals folk canadiens à l’adolescence. Les stations radiophoniques communautaires et étudiantes diffusent abondamment ses deux premiers albums autoproduits, lui attirant le titre de « Jeune artiste de l’année » aux Prix de musique folk canadienne en 2008 et le prix Colleen Peterson de la chanson en 2009.

Fascinée par les arrangements classiques que le compositeur canadien Patrick Carrabré a fait des chansons de son album Origin of Stars, elle enregistre le suivant avec un  quatuor à cordes. Paru en 2015, Modern Ruin fait l’unanimité à titre de « proposition la plus audacieuse et inusitée de l’année sur la scène de la musique indépendante ». Depuis, elle ne cesse de tourner avec différents quatuors en Europe, tout en préparant son prochain album dont la sortie est prévue pour 2018.

Fondé en 2007, l’ensemble montréalais Warhol Dervish est un collectif de musique de chambre peu orthodoxe qui réunit des musiciens parmi les plus intéressants et les plus créatifs au Canada. Pionniers et visionnaires, les membres de Warhol Dervish se recrutent parmi les aficionados de la musique ancienne, les spécialistes de la nouvelle musique, les ardents romantiques attachés au 19e siècle, les collaborateurs pop, les aspirants rock stars, les adeptes de la méditation et les yogis qui cherchent à transporter l’expérience du concert de musique de chambre au 21e siècle.

video: Kyrie Kristmanson - Modern Ruin
Kyrie Kristmanson - Modern Ruin
Kyrie Kristmanson © Marine Pierrot Detry
Menu