AHI and Dylan Menzie

AHI
“Dylan Menzie is one of my favourite musicians coming out of the Maritimes today.”
Kerry Martin, CBC

$10 Student tickets available in advance for this show, with valid student card.

Few artists leave such an impression that you’ll never forget the exact moment you first heard them. With a voice like “gravel on silk”, Canadian songwriter and independent recording artist AHI (pronounced “eye”) is one of those rare finds.

AHI has been recognized and awarded by the Folk Music Ontario, Folk Alliance International, Nashville Songwriters Association International, the Songwriters Association of Canada, and the Canada Council for the Arts, and as a Top 10 Finalist of the 2017 Allan Slaight JUNO Master Class it’s easy to see why AHI is one of Canada’s most promising emerging acts.

With his compelling, sprawling vocal range, a striking mix of familiar yet sophisticated musical lines and adept guitar skills, Dylan Menzie is quickly becoming one of Prince Edward Island’s prime exports. Hailing from Belle River, PEI, Menzie has been likened to Tom Petty, My Morning Jacket and was highly praised by Canadian singer-songwriter Ron Sexmith.

His recently released sophomore album, Adolescent Nature (2016), followed his top-four placement in CBC’s 2016 Searchlight Competition. The lead single, “Kenya” secured Menzie’s high standing in this National competition. The single also spent eight weeks on CBC Radio 2’s Top 20 countdown including two weeks at number one.

video: Dylan Menzie, Kenya
Dylan Menzie, Kenya
video: AHI, Alive Again
AHI, Alive Again
AHI
Dylan Menzie
AHI
AHI
AHI
Menu

AHI et Dylan Menzie

AHI

Billets étudiants en vente à 10 $ pour ce spectacle. Carte d'étudiants valide requise.

Peu d’artistes vous laissent une impression si vive que vous n’oubliez jamais le moment exact où vous les avez entendus pour la première fois. Grâce à sa voix, décrite comme « du gravier sur de la soie », l’auteur-compositeur-interprète canadien indépendant AHI (prononcé « aï ») constitue l’une de ces perles rares.

AHI a remporté de nombreuses distinctions, notamment de Folk Music Ontario, de Folk Alliance International, de la Nashville Songwriters Association International, de l’Association des auteurs-compositeurs canadiens et du Conseil des arts du Canada. Il a également été l’un des dix finalistes de la Classe de maître Allan Slaight des JUNO en 2017. Il est facile de constater pourquoi AHI est considéré comme l’un des artistes émergents les plus prometteurs au Canada.

Le registre aussi vaste que fascinant de Dylan Menzie, combiné à ses aptitudes de guitariste et ses lignes musicales qui oscillent aisément entre la simplicité et le raffinement, font de lui l’un des principaux fleurons de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Originaire de Belle River, Î.-P.-É., Menzie a été comparé à Tom Petty et My Morning Jacket, en plus d’avoir reçu les éloges de Ron Sexmith, auteur‑compositeur-interprète canadien.

Son deuxième album lancé récemment, Adolescent Nature (2016), donne suite à son classement parmi les quatre finalistes du concours CBC Searchlight de 2016. Le premier extrait, « Kenya », a non seulement assuré le succès de Menzie dans le cadre de ce concours national, mais il lui a permis de passer huit semaines au palmarès des 20 meilleures pièces de la CBC Radio 2, dont deux semaines en première position.

video: Dylan Menzie, Kenya
Dylan Menzie, Kenya
video: AHI, Alive Again
AHI, Alive Again
AHI
Dylan Menzie
AHI
AHI
AHI
Menu