Street closures around the NAC during the Santa Claus Parade
Pony Girl © Rémi Theriault
“[Pony Girl has an] ability to push the boundaries that define ‘pop-rock’” Mixtape Magazine

Pony Girl masterfully explore the tension between what we want and what we have on their sophomore album Foreign Life. Guy-girl pop vocals score the foreign lives we create when we cheat on a partner (“Adultery”), lose a friend (“All That There Is”), force a smile (“Foreign Life I”), and further divides separating fantasy from reality. Pascal Huot and Yolande Laroche’s alluring harmony is our paradox as we struggle to close the distance.

The Ottawa collective have been lauded for their “evocative soundscapes” (CBC Radio), and “musical depth quite astonishing to experience” (Exclaim!) since the release of their debut album, Show Me Your Fears, in 2013.

Audiences have been mesmerized by their sets at festivals including Le Festival d’été de Québec, Arboretum, Ottawa Bluesfest, CityFolk, Ottawa Jazz Festival, FUZE New Music Festival and on several tours of Canada. Pony Girl released their sophomore album Foreign Life through So Sorry Records on November 7, 2015.

video: Little Life (Live at St. Alban's)
Little Life (Live at St. Alban's)
Pony Girl © Rémi Theriault
Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA pendant le défilé du père Noël
Pony Girl © Rémi Theriault

Sur son deuxième album, Foreign Life, Pony Girl explore d’une main de maître les tensions qui naissent lors de la confrontation de nos désirs et de nos possessions. Des voix masculines et féminines racontent à travers une musique pop la vie d’étranger que nous nous créons chaque fois que nous trompons notre douce moitié (« Adultery »), que nous perdons un ami (« All That There Is ») ou que nous forçons un sourire (« Foreign Life I »), situations où la fantaisie se dissocie de la réalité. Les séduisantes harmonies de Pascal Huot et Yolande Laroche constituent un paradoxe dans notre combat d’abolition des distances.

Le collectif d’Ottawa a reçu des éloges pour ses paysages sonores évocateurs (CBC Radio) et la profondeur musicale stupéfiante qu’il nous fait découvrir (Exclaim!) depuis le lancement de son premier album, Show Me Your Fears, en 2013.

Pony Girl laisse dans la fascination les publics qui assistent à ses nombreuses tournées canadiennes et aux prestations que la formation donne dans divers festivals, comme le Festival d’été de Québec, le festival Arboretum, le Bluesfest d’Ottawa, le CityFolk, le Festival de jazz d’Ottawa et le FUZE New Music Festival. Pony Girl a lancé son deuxième album Foreign Life sous l’étiquette So Sorry Records le 7 novembre 2015.

video: Little Life (Live at St. Alban's)
Little Life (Live at St. Alban's)
Pony Girl © Rémi Theriault
Menu