Street closures around the NAC during the Santa Claus Parade
Miguel de Armas

From Cuba to Canada, the musical stylings of Miguel de Armas are nothing short of brilliant. The Havana-born pianist has recorded over 60 albums and collaborated with an array of Cuban legends. In 1988, he co-founded NG La Banda, a group single-handedly responsible for creating the Cuban salsa offshoot called Timba.

Now based in Ottawa, Miguel brings his bright Latin beat to the NAC Presents series for a performance that is nothing short of a master class in original Cuban rhythms – airy, feel-good jazz that spreads itself comfortable in all directions and into all kinds of music.

Since their creation in 2012, the Miguel de Armas Quartet has demonstrated masterful, independent yet collaborative playing, with an articulate, impassioned and powerful synchronicity. Effortlessly weaving Cuban and North American Jazz in a wonderfully eclectic way, Miguel remains a stalwart in the world of Cuban music, a keyboard colossus with a rapidly growing Canadian following.

video: The Miguel de Armas Quartet 2015
The Miguel de Armas Quartet 2015
Miguel de Armas
Miguel de Armas Quartet
Miguel de Armas
Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA pendant le défilé du père Noël
Miguel de Armas

Miguel de Armas manie avec dans tous les styles musicaux qu’il explore, qu’ils soient d’inspiration cubaine ou canadienne. Le pianiste natif de La Havane a enregistré plus de 60 albums et a collaboré avec un vaste éventail de légendes cubaines. En 1988, il a cofondé NG La Banda, un groupe qui a lui seul est responsable de la création de la timba, une variante de la salsa cubaine.

Maintenant établi à Ottawa, Miguel ravira son public avec ses influences latines dans le cadre de la série CNA Présente, offrant un spectacle qui fera office de classe de maître sur les rythmes cubains originaux. Puisant dans tous les styles musicaux, il interprétera avec aise du jazz aéré et diversifié.

Depuis sa création en 2012, le Miguel de Armas Quartet se démarque par son jeu magistral et indépendant, mais collaboratif, à la faveur de pièces exécutées avec un synchronisme articulé, fervent et puissant. Passant sans peine du jazz cubain au jazz nord-américain avec un admirable éclectisme, Miguel demeure un pilier du monde de la musique cubaine, un géant du clavier qui gagne rapidement en popularité au Canada.

video: The Miguel de Armas Quartet 2015
The Miguel de Armas Quartet 2015
Miguel de Armas
Miguel de Armas Quartet
Miguel de Armas
Menu