This event has passed
Leonard Sumner

Leonard Sumner

Leonard Sumner is an Anishinaabe MC/Singer/Songwriter from the Little Saskatchewan First Nation, located in Interlake Region of Manitoba. He provides perspective from a voice often unheard and over-looked in the traditional music communities: truthful, insightful, and providing a new sound straight from ‘the Rez’.

His music is best described as a fusion of hip-hop, country and rhythm and blues. His lyrics are intricate and honest, combined with his message and heart, massage into a raspy flow that growls with a bittersweet existential angst. On stage, he captivates crowds with a guitar slung over his shoulder, singing and rhyming to the beats, allowing his style to be enjoyed by people who typically ‘aren’t into rap.’

Jack Pine

The fated destruction and rebirth of Jack Pine’s namesake tree is one of many inspirations that lead this Ottawa singer-songwriter to perform original alternative-folk songs that point to the beauty within the wreck, and the heart within the wretch. Jack Pine howls and spits biting folk lyricism, while his mandolin plays furiously, then softly.

His band Jack Pine and The Fire’s 2017 sophomore album Left To Our Own Devices was written on a remote and isolated Northern Ontario island. “Lone Wolf” elucidates the plight of a lone wolf looking for love, “Cabin Fever” depicts a man going stir crazy while cooped up indoors for far too long, and songs like “Credit River” and “The Run Down” question the values of popular capitalist society from an outsiders perspective.  Through Jack’s songs, this long awaited follow up to their 2012 debut peers into the cracks in all our relationships - with ourselves, with each-other, and with the earth.

Jack will be accompanied for this performance by Anders Drerup on guitar.

video: Leonard Sumner |
Leonard Sumner | "Best of Me"
video:
"The Only Thing" by Jack Pine
Leonard Sumner
Leonard Sumner
Jack Pine
Jack Pine
Menu

Cet événement est passé
Leonard Sumner

Leonard Sumner

Leonard Sumner est un rappeur et un auteur-compositeur-interprète anishinaabe appartenant à la bande Little Saskatchewan, établie dans la région d’Entre-les-Lacs, Manitoba. Il présente une perspective nouvelle en empruntant une voix originale et négligée dans la communauté de la musique traditionnelle, une expression qui se distingue par sa sincérité, sa sagacité et une sonorité novatrice sortie tout droit de « The Rez ».

Sa musique pourrait être décrite comme une fusion de hip-hop, de country et de R&B. Ses textes, complexes et honnêtes, combinés au message et aux émotions qu’il transmet, maquillent un flot rêche de grognements teintés d’une angoisse existentielle dans laquelle se mêlent douceur et amertume. Sur scène, il captive son public, une guitare suspendue à l’épaule, chantant et faisant des rimes rythmées dans un style personnel qui lui permet de conquérir des auditoires qui ne sont pas de typiques amateurs de rap.

Jack Pine

Le destin de destruction et de renaissance de l’arbre homonyme de Jack Pine est une des nombreuses inspirations qui ont mené l’auteur-compositeur-interprète d’Ottawa à créer des chansons folks alternatives originales qui parlent de la beauté dans la destruction et du cœur dans le malheur. Pine hurle son folk lyrique et mordant, et alterne entre furie et douceur à la mandoline.

L’album de 2017 Left To Our Own Devices, deuxième de son groupe Jack Pine and The Fire, a été écrit sur une île éloignée du nord de l’Ontario. “Lone Wolf” élucide les problèmes d’un loup solitaire à trouver l’amour. “Cabin Fever” présente le portrait d’un homme qui devient fou à être enfermé depuis trop longtemps, tandis que les chansons “Credit River” et “The Run Down” remettent en question les valeurs de la société capitaliste d’un point de vue extérieur. Cet album, longtemps attendu depuis le premier du groupe en 2012, jette un regard aux fissures dans toutes nos relations : avec nous-mêmes, avec les autres, et avec la planète.

Jack Pine sera accompagné d’Anders Drerup à la guitare pour ce concert.

video: Leonard Sumner |
Leonard Sumner | "Best of Me"
video:
"The Only Thing" - Jack Pine
Leonard Sumner
Leonard Sumner
Jack Pine
Jack Pine
Menu