Street closures around the NAC during the Santa Claus Parade
"This lady can shred and her energy was infectious” Vancouver Sun

An exceptional stage presence, guitarist/singer-songwriter Cécile Doo-Kingué blends blues, afro-roots and soul to create a unique sound. Born and raised in New York City, first generation from Cameroon, she has lived in the US, France, and now resides in Montreal.

An award-winning guitarist-singer-songwriter, considered one of Canada's most electrifying and versatile guitarists, Cécile plays an average of 150 shows per year. She is quickly earning a stellar reputation and a place alongside Canada’s current roster of great guitarists. Powerful and raw with an exceptional stage presence, she is a force of nature whose lyrics and sound make for an enthralling and intimate experience.

She has released four albums to critical acclaim, been commissioned by the Canadian Broadcast Corporation (Home, a song on immigration) and was awarded the 2013 SPACQ Foundation Edith Butler Award for Excellence in French Songwriting for Gris (2012). She’s been nominated for five Maple Blues Awards in the last two years.

video: Bloodstained Vodka
Bloodstained Vodka
Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA pendant le défilé du père Noël

Cécile Doo-Kingué, guitariste, chanteuse et auteure-compositrice, mélange le blues, le soul et ses racines africaines en un son unique, qui lui confère une présence exceptionnelle sur scène. Née à New York où elle a passé son enfance, fille d’une première génération d’immigrants du Cameroun, elle a vécu aux États-Unis et en France, et habite maintenant Montréal.

Plusieurs fois primée et considérée comme l’une des guitaristes les plus électrisantes et polyvalentes du Canada, Cécile donne en moyenne 150 spectacles par année. Forte et sincère, elle propose avec ses paroles et sa voix des moments d’intimité ensorcelante, et s’est vite gagné une réputation enviable parmi les meilleurs guitaristes actuels au pays.

Cécile Doo-Kingué compte quatre albums fort bien accueillis. Elle a obtenu une commande de la Société Radio-Canada (Home, une chanson sur l’immigration) et a remporté avec Gris (2012) le prix d’excellence Édith Butler de la Société professionnelle des auteurs et des compositeurs du Québec (SPACQ) pour la chanson francophone en 2013. Depuis deux ans, elle a été cinq fois candidate aux prix Maple Blues.

video: Bloodstained Vodka
Bloodstained Vodka
Menu