Today at 10 a.m., watch our livestream morning session of The Republic of Inclusion

We’ve Got the Beat

Bangers & Smash percussion duo

dates & times

  Atrium O’Brien 1 Elgin Street, Ottawa
dates & times dates & times
  Atrium O’Brien 1 Elgin Street, Ottawa

Bangers & Smash

Rocket 57 Illustration & Animation

Approximately 1 hours with no intermission.

Drums, cymbals, timpani, marimbas, xylophones, and an inexhaustible supply of “toys” – these are all part of the percussion section of the National Arts Centre Orchestra. In We’ve Got the Beat, Bangers & Smash will show you all the sounds and colours percussion instruments can produce, from J.S. Bach to rock. In addition to learning about the various percussion instruments, you’ll have the chance to do some playing of your own in the instrument petting zoo!

NAC Orchestra percussionists Kenneth Simpson and Jonathan Wade formed the duo Bangers & Smash over 30 years ago. They have performed all over the National Capital Region in elementary and high school auditoriums as well as on stage at the National Arts Centre as part of the student matinees and KinderNACO concert series. Their music features a variety of styles from baroque to rock, and explores the sounds and colours of the orchestra’s percussion instruments in a fun and entertaining way.

NACO’s Assistant Principal Bass, Marjolaine Fournier, hosts this fun-packed morning of banging and smashing!

This show is part of Canada Scene’s free Family Scene series. Running every morning at 11:00 from July 2 to 23, the series showcases theatre, dance, and music for kids of all ages in the NAC’s new Atrium.

Credits

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

3 Jul

  • 11:00 AM

4 Jul

5 Jul

6 Jul

7 Jul

8 Jul

9 Jul

10 Jul

  • 11:00 AM

11 Jul

12 Jul

13 Jul

14 Jul

15 Jul

16 Jul

17 Jul

  • 11:00 AM

18 Jul

19 Jul

20 Jul

21 Jul

22 Jul

23 Jul

Menu

On tient le rythme

Duo de percussion Bangers & Smash

  Atrium O’Brien 1 rue Elgin, Ottawa
  Atrium O’Brien 1 rue Elgin, Ottawa

Bangers & Smash

Rocket 57 Illustration et Animation

Durée approximative de 1 heures sans entracte.

Tambours, cymbales, timbales, marimbas, xylophones et une source intarissable de « jouets » : tout cela fait partie des percussions de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts. Avec On tient le rythme, Bangers & Smash vous feront découvrir tous les sons et les couleurs que les instruments à percussion peuvent produire, de J.S. Bach au. En plus d’en apprendre sur les différents instruments, vous aurez la chance de faire votre propre musique dans un « enclos » d’instruments.

Les percussionnistes de l’Orchestre du CNA, Kenneth Simpson et Jonathan Wade forment le duo de Bangers & Smash depuis plus de 30 ans. Ils se sont produits partout dans la région de la capitale nationale, dans les auditoriums des écoles élémentaires et secondaires dans le cadre des matinées étudiantes et de la série de concert Les Musicopains. Leur musique touche une variété de styles, du baroque au rock, et explore les sons et les couleurs des instruments à percussion de l’orchestre d’une façon amusante.

La contrebassiste-solo assistante de l’Orchestre du CNA, Marjolaine Fournier, est l’hôte de cette folle matinée de rythmes endiablés !

Ce spectacle s’inscrit dans la série Scène famille de la Scène Canada. Présentée tous les matins à 11 h, du 2 au 23 juillet, la série propose du théâtre, de la danse et de la musique pour les enfants de tous âges dans l’Atrium du CNA.

crédits

Menu