[x] Close

Atlantis Jazz Ensemble

Photo: Marielle Rivard

Atlantis Jazz Ensemble

Photo: JC Batista

NAC Presentation

Duration

Performance is approximately 45 minutes with no intermission.

Like the mythical lost continent that gave it its name, the Atlantis Jazz Ensemble's music lies somewhere between the shores of Africa, Europe, and the Americas, influenced by jazz currents running from both sides of the Atlantic.

This Ottawa group was founded in 2013 by saxophonist Zakari Frantz and pianist Pierre Chrétien of the Souljazz Orchestra, both looking to explore new directions in modal, spiritual, and esoteric jazz music. They recruited like-minded trumpeter Ed Lister, double bassist Alex Bilodeau, and drummer Mike Essoudry for the journey, and they have never looked back.

Always refining their sultry grooves and signature sound, the Atlantis Jazz Ensemble never fails to make some serious waves.

This concert is part of Canada Scene’s free Scene@6 series. Running every evening at 6:00 from July 2 to 23, the series showcases this country’s top folk, roots, world, and jazz artists in the NAC’s new Atrium.

Menu

Atlantis Jazz Ensemble

[x] Fermer

Atlantis Jazz Ensemble

Photo: Marielle Rivard

Atlantis Jazz Ensemble

Photo: JC Batista

Présentation du CNA

Durée approximative de 45 minutes sans entracte.

Tout comme le mythique continent perdu qui a inspiré son nom, la musique de l’Atlantis Jazz Ensemble se situe quelque part entre les côtes de l’Afrique, de l’Europe et des Amériques, influencée par les courants jazz des deux rives de l’Atlantique.

Ce groupe d’Ottawa a été fondé en 2013 par le saxophoniste Zakari Frantz et le pianiste Pierre Chrétien du Souljazz Orchestra. Tous deux cherchaient à explorer les nouvelles terres du jazz modal, spirituel et ésotérique. Pour entreprendre leur voyage, ils ont recruté des musiciens aux idées similaires : le trompettiste Ed Lister, le contrebassiste Alex Bilodeau et le batteur Mike Essoudry.

Raffinant toujours plus son groove sensuel et sa signature sonore, l’Atlantis Jazz Ensemble crée de vrais remous.

Ce concert s’inscrit dans la série de concerts gratuits Scène@6 de la Scène Canada. À l’affiche tous les soirs du 2 au 23 juillet à 18 h, la série présente des artistes country, folk, roots, de musique du monde et jazz dans l’Atrium du CNA.

Vidéos

  • Atlantis Jazz Ensemble - Pillars Of Hercules (Official Video)

  • Atlantis Jazz Ensemble - Yemaya (Official Video)

  • Atlantis Jazz Ensemble - Undercurrents (Official Video)

Liens artiste

Menu