[x] Close

Miguel De Armas

Photo: Benito Castillo

Duration

Performance is approximately 45 minutes with no intermission.

From Cuba to Canada, the musical stylings of Miguel De Armas are nothing short of brilliant. The Havana-born pianist has recorded more than 50 albums and collaborated with an array of Cuban legends, including Compay Segundo. In 1988, he co-founded NG La Banda, a group single-handedly responsible for creating the Cuban salsa offshoot called timba.

Now based in Ottawa, Miguel brings his bright Latin beat to the festival’s Canada Stage series for a performance that is nothing short of a master class in original Cuban rhythms – airy, feel-good jazz that spreads itself comfortably in all directions and into all kinds of music. Effortlessly weaving Cuban and North American jazz in a wonderfully eclectic way, Miguel remains a stalwart in the world of Cuban music, a keyboard colossus with a rapidly growing Canadian following.

This concert is part of Canada Scene’s free Scene@6 series. Running every evening at 6:00 from July 2 to 23, the series showcases this country’s top folk, roots, world, and jazz artists in the NAC’s new Atrium.

Miguel's writing is tremendous. It’s authentic and it’s contemporary. Miguel is the real thing.

Roddy Ellias, Ottawa Citizen
Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA pendant le défilé du père Noël
[x] Fermer

Miguel De Armas

Photo: Benito Castillo

Durée

Durée approximative de 45 minutes sans entracte.

De Cuba au Canada, le style musical de Miguel De Armas est tout simplement brillant. Le pianiste né à La Havane a enregistré plus de 50 albums et collaboré avec de nombreuses légendes de la musique cubaine, dont Compay Segundo. En 1988, il a cofondé le groupe NG La Banda, créateur d’une branche de la salsa cubaine appelée timba.

Maintenant installé à Ottawa, Miguel transporte ses brillants rythme latins à la série [Canada Stage] du festival dans une performance qui n’est rien de moins qu’une classe de maître sur les rythmes cubains authentiques — un jazz léger, festif qui se promène confortablement dans toutes les directions et dans tous les genres musicaux. Mariant aisément les jazz cubain et nord-américain d’une façon magnifiquement éclectique, Miguel demeure un pilier de la musique cubaine, un géant du clavier jouissant d’une renommée croissante au Canada.

Ce concert s’inscrit dans la série de concerts gratuits Scène@6 de la Scène Canada. À l’affiche tous les soirs du 2 au 23 juillet à 18 h, la série présente des artistes country, folk, roots, de musique du monde et jazz dans l’Atrium du CNA.

L’écriture musicale de Miguel est extraordinaire. C’est authentique et contemporain. Miguel est un « vrai ».

Roddy Ellias, Ottawa Citizen
Menu