This event has passed
© Julie Charland
“My stated purpose was to wrench theatre out of the realm of psychological speculation, and make our murmuring stages resound with the loud cries that have the power to subdue or to free multitudes of men.” Albert Camus

Exclusive Canadian Engagement


*** ENGLISH SURTITLES FRIDAY NOVEMBER 17 ***

A dizzying allegory, tinged with fantasy, about totalitarian and corrupt regimes. A modern myth invented by Camus and similar in theme to his novel The Plague. An immersive and compelling work, performed by the renowned Théâtre de la Ville de Paris company.

A theatre company is rehearsing in a peaceful seaside town when one of the actors suddenly collapses: he has the plague. The governor declares a state of siege, and instantly a relentless wave of regulations, checks and persecutions begins to spread terror among the citizens… until Diego, with the boldness of youth, organizes an uprising in the name of freedom. Performed by a powerful chorus of members of the Théâtre de la Ville, Paris, this ambitious staging by Emmanuel Demarcy‑Mota ignites the fiery spirit of resistance.

© Julie Charland
© Jean Louis Fernandez
© Jean Louis Fernandez
© Jean Louis Fernandez
© Jean Louis Fernandez
© Jean Louis Fernandez
© Jean Louis Fernandez

Artists

  • Written by Albert Camus
  • Directed by Emmanuel Demarcy-Mota
  • With Serge Maggiani
  • Featuring Hugues Quester
  • Featuring Alain Libolt
  • Featuring Valérie Dashwood
  • Featuring Matthieu Dessertine
  • Featuring Hannah Levin Seiderman
  • Featuring Jauris Casanova
  • Featuring Philippe Demarle
  • Featuring Sandra Faure
  • Featuring Sarah Karbasnikoff
  • Featuring Gérald Maillet
  • Featuring Walter N’Guyen
  • Featuring Pascal Vuillemot
  • And special appearances by Victor Dubé-Marcus
  • Featuring Arnaud Forget (alternatively)
Menu

Cet événement est passé
© Julie Charland
« Mon but avoué était d’arracher le théâtre aux spéculations psychologiques et de faire retentir sur nos scènes murmurantes les grands cris qui courbent ou libèrent aujourd’hui des foules d’hommes. » Albert Camus

Exclusivité canadienne

***  REPRÉSENTATION AVEC SURTITRES ANGLAIS VENDREDI 17 NOVEMBRE ***

Une allégorie vertigineuse, teintée de fantastique, sur les régimes autoritaires et corrompus. Un mythe moderne inventé par Camus en écho à sa Peste. Un théâtre total et choral, mettant en scène l’illustre troupe du Théâtre de la Ville de Paris. 

Une troupe répète dans une paisible ville portuaire. Soudain, un interprète s’effondre : il a la peste. Le gouverneur fait proclamer l’état de siège. Instantanément, une implacable vague de contrôles, de fichages et de persécutions répand partout un climat de terreur. Jusqu’à ce que, fort de sa jeunesse, Diego organise la révolte pour faire souffler à nouveau le vent de la liberté. Portée par le chœur de la vaste troupe du Théâtre de la Ville de Paris, cette mise en scène ambitieuse d’Emmanuel Demarcy-Mota embrase l’esprit de résistance.

video: Bande-annonce
Bande-annonce
© Julie Charland
© Jean Louis Fernandez
© Jean Louis Fernandez
© Jean Louis Fernandez
© Jean Louis Fernandez
© Jean Louis Fernandez
© Jean Louis Fernandez

Artistes

  • Texte Albert Camus
  • Mise en scène Emmanuel Demarcy-Mota
  • Avec Serge Maggiani
  • Avec Hugues Quester
  • Avec Alain Libolt
  • Avec Valérie Dashwood
  • Avec Matthieu Dessertine
  • Avec Hannah Levin Seiderman
  • Avec Jauris Casanova
  • Avec Philippe Demarle
  • Avec Sandra Faure
  • Avec Sarah Karbasnikoff
  • Avec Gérald Maillet
  • Avec Walter N’Guyen
  • Avec Pascal Vuillemot
  • Et la participation spéciale de Victor Dubé-Marcus
  • Avec Arnaud Forget (en alternance)
Menu