Moving Stories

Schooled in Dance – local students creatively connect the dots between movement and storytelling

Earl of March students

Photo: Allen Kaeja

Woodroffe students

Photo: S. Watkins

Approximately 1 hour with no intermission

Take the youthful exuberance of over 100 talented local students from grades 7 to 12, add three enthralling storytellers with unique, culturally diverse voices, throw in the passionate commitment of some remarkable educators and dance professionals and allow to gestate for a few months – the result?  Creative combustion!

Come and discover the energy, joy, and emotional honesty of Moving Stories – original dance works performed by students interpreting the words of three spoken word artists who join them on stage. Dance that connects people, experience and ideas. 

Featuring storytellers Taqralik Patridge, Habiba Ali and Sarah Waisvisz and students of Earl of March Middle School, Earl of March High School and Woodroffe High School.

Moving Stories is a co-production of the Canada Dance Festival, the Ottawa Carleton District School Board (OCDSB), and NAC Dance.  The project was spearheaded by OCDSB Dance Educator Allison Carrier and NAC Dance Education and Outreach Coordinator Siôned Watkins.

Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA - fin de semaine de la fête du Canada

Moving Stories

Schooled in Dance – des élèves d'écoles locales jettent des ponts créatifs entre le mouvement et le conte

Les étudiants d'école Earl of March

Photo : Allen Kaeja

Les étudiants d'école Woodroffe

Photo : S. Watkins

Environ une heure, sans entracte

Prenez l'exubérance juvénile d'au-delà d'une centaine d'élèves talentueux d'écoles secondaires locales (de la 7e à la 12e année), ajoutez-y trois passionnants conteurs au style unique issus de différentes cultures, ainsi que le dévouement de remarquables enseignants et professionnels de la danse, et laissez mijoter quelques mois : c'est la recette d'une explosion de créativité!

Venez découvrir l'énergie, la joie et la sincérité de Moving Stories – des pièces de danse originales interprétées par les élèves sur les mots de trois conteurs qui se joignent à eux sur scène. De la danse qui relie les gens, les expériences et les idées.

Avec les conteurs Taqralik Partridge, Habiba Ali et Sarah Waisvisz, et des élèves de trois établissements : Earl of March Middle School, Earl of March High School et Woodroffe High School.

Moving Stories est une coproduction du Festival Danse Canada, du conseil scolaire du district d'Ottawa-Carleton (Ottawa-Carleton District School Board – OCDSB), et de Danse CNA. Le projet a été piloté par Allison Carrier, enseignante en danse au OCDSB, et Siôned Watkins, associe en éducation et coordonnatrice à la médiation culturelle de Danse CNA. 

Menu