Rêves américains : de la ruée vers l’or à la Grande Crise

NAC Studio

NAC Studio

Rêves américains

Pierre Crépô

Rêves américains

Pierre Crépô

Mathieu Rivard

Mathieu Rivard

Mathieu Rivard

NAC Production

Thomas Hellman explores American mythology by immersing himself in the period between the settling of the West and the Great Depression of the 1930s. In a show codirected with Brigitte Haentjens, this multitalented artist blends blues, folk and gospel in a musical illustration of artists’ role in bringing meaning to chaos.

“If I am not I, who will be?” (Henry David Thoreau)

From 2012 to 2014, as a contributor to Radio-Canada’s La tête ailleurs, Thomas Hellman presented a series of radio pieces about the history of music during the economic crisis of the 1930s. The more he talked about it on air, the more he thought about the close connection between major social movements and music. The experience inspired him to develop the concept into a musical fresco spanning the period between the settling of the American West and the Great Depression, weaving together songs from the blues, folk and gospel repertoire of that era. Moving effortlessly among guitar, banjo, piano, ukulele and vocals, this brilliant artist immersed himself in this landmark chapter of American history, backed by Olaf Gundel (piano, banjo, guitar, percussion and vocals) and Sage Reynolds (double bass and vocals). And because in addition to being a multitalented musician he’s a lover of literature, a huge admirer of the likes of Roland Giguère, Frank H. Mayer and John Steinbeck, he invited Brigitte Haentjens, a leading light in Canadian theatre, to codirect his sweeping personal investigation into resilience. Following its successful premiere at Montreal’s Théâtre Outremont in September 2015, the show toured extensively in Quebec and Ontario, prompting audiences everywhere to ask themselves: might the ability of the artists of the 1930s to bring meaning to chaos hold lessons for our own troubled times?

Credits

  • Musicians Thomas Hellman, Olaf Gundel and Sage Reynolds
Learn More:

Words and music: J. Keirn Brennan, Robert Burns, Elizabeth Cotten, Georges S. Davis, Jay Gorney, Woody Guthrie, E. Y. Harburg, Thomas Hellman, Francis D. Henry, Johnny Marvin, Frank H. Mayer, John Newton, Jimmie Rodgers, Jacques Sevin, John Steinbeck, Henry D. Thoreau, Merle Travis, and other writers forgotten by history
Directed by Brigitte Haentjens and Thomas Hellman
Lighting: Anne-Marie Rodrigue-Lecours
Sound: Stéphane Grimm
Design: Julie Charland
Production director: Julie Abran

Musicians: Thomas Hellman, Olaf Gundel and Sage Reynolds

Produced by Productions Onimus

Media partner
Ledroit2
Menu

Rêves américains : de la ruée vers l’or à la Grande Crise

Cet événement est passé

Production du CNA

Thomas Hellman explore les mythes de l’américanité en se plongeant dans la période allant de la conquête de l’Ouest à la crise des années 1930. Dans une mise en scène cosignée avec Brigitte Haentjens, cet artiste polyvalent convoque le blues, le folk et le gospel pour chanter la capacité des artistes à faire surgir du sens du chaos.

« Si je ne suis pas moi, qui le sera ? » (Henry David Thoreau)

De 2012 à 2014, Thomas Hellman livre à l’émission La tête ailleurs, sur les ondes de Radio-Canada, une série de chroniques sur l’histoire de la musique pendant la crise des années 1930. Plus il en parle au micro, plus il prend conscience du lien intime qui unit les grands mouvements sociaux et la musique. Cette expérience l’incite à prolonger l’aventure à travers une fresque musicale dépeignant la période qui conduit de la conquête de l’Ouest à la Grande Dépression. Défile une série de chansons tirées des répertoires blues, folk et gospel de l’époque. Maniant tour à tour la guitare, le banjo, le piano, le ukulélé et le chant, cet artiste brillant s’immerge dans cette période phare de l’américanité avec la complicité d’Olaf Gundel (piano, banjo, guitare, percussions, voix) et Sage Reynolds (contrebasse, voix). En plus d’être un musicien polyvalent, Hellman est aussi un homme de lettres, amoureux des mots de Roland Giguère comme de ceux de Frank H. Mayer ou encore de John Steinbeck. Il s’est tourné vers Brigitte Haentjens pour cosigner la mise en scène de cette proposition humaine et épique sur la résilience. Créée avec succès au Théâtre Outremont en septembre 2015, cette forme prend les routes du Québec et de l’Ontario pour nous poser cette question : l’aptitude qu’avaient les artistes de cette époque à faire surgir du sens du chaos n’offrirait-elle pas un miroir tendu à notre propre monde en crise ?
 

Rencontre d’après-spectacle
La représentation du jeudi soir vient tout juste de se terminer, les émotions flottent encore dans l’air, et voilà que reviennent sur scène les artistes pour échanger avec vous pendant trente minutes.

Rêves américains © Pierre Crépô
Rêves américains © Pierre Crépô
© Mathieu Rivard
© Mathieu Rivard
© Mathieu Rivard
Menu