Tedd Robinson | 10 Gates Dancing

TRUST

Diefenbunker:  Canada’s Cold War Museum

Diefenbunker:  Canada’s Cold War Museum

Photo: Rod MacIvor

World Premiere

Approximately 1 hour with no intermission.

Trust is one of the basic tenets of life. By earning it, we gain entry into the lives of others. As a basis for social ritual, the physicality of trust—the gestures of shared values—can establish systems of belief, dependence and seduction.

This new duet by choreographer/performer Tedd Robinson and composer/performer Charles Quevillon uses trust as a base point for creative examination; a resonant encounter in an intimate and historically complex setting that invites the curious to trust the curious.

10 Gates Dancing promotes the development and performance of contemporary dance creations. Through the teaching, creation and performance of these works, 10 Gates provides entry points for the education of the public to contemporary and theatrical dance. Since its inception, under the artistic direction of Tedd Robinson, the company has created an exceptional body of work for some of the most renowned dance artists and companies in Canada and has held a unique role in the field of dance through its mentorship activities with choreographers in Canada and abroad. The company is based in Ottawa and works on national and international stages.

Your ticket includes a free shuttle bus departing from the NAC Welcome Centre (54 Elgin Street at Queen Street) one hour in advance of the performance. The shuttle bus departs at 1pm for the 2pm performance and 4pm for the 5pm performance. Bus will return to the NAC Welcome Centre immediately  following each performance.

Please note: This performance is not wheelchair accessible. We recommend bringing a sweater for the performance. 

Credits

  • Tedd Robinson Choreographer/Performer
  • Charles Quevillon Composer/Performer

Artist Links

Learn More:
Menu

Photo : Rod MacIvor

Première mondiale

Durée

Durée approximative de 1 heure sans entracte.

La confiance est l'un des piliers de l'existence. La gagner, c'est accéder à la vie d'autrui. En tant que fondement du rituel social, l'aspect physique de la confiance – les gestes exprimant des valeurs communes – permet d'établir des systèmes de croyances, et des mécanismes de dépendance et de séduction.

Ce nouveau duo du chorégraphe/interprète Tedd Robinson et du compositeur/interprète Charles Quevillon prend appui sur la notion de confiance (trust) pour produire une rencontre retentissante, dans un lieu intime et chargé d'histoire qui encourage les esprits curieux à faire confiance aux curieux.

10 Gates Dancing promeut le développement et la diffusion de créations en danse contemporaine. Par l’enseignement, de même que par la création et la diffusion de ces œuvres, la compagnie offre au public des pistes pour s’initier à la danse contemporaine et à la danse-théâtre. Depuis sa mise sur pied, sous la direction artistique de Tedd Robinson, 10 Gates a enchaîné les œuvres remarquables pour quelques-uns des artistes et compagnies de danse les plus renommés du Canada, et a joué un rôle marquant dans le monde de la danse par ses activités de mentorat avec le concours de chorégraphes au Canada et à l’étranger. Basée à Ottawa, la compagnie est présente sur les scènes nationales et internationales.

Votre billet inclut un aller-retour en bus-navette. Les départs sont prévus devant la Billetterie satellite du CNA (54, rue Elgin, angle Queen) une heure avant le début de chaque représentation (13 h pour la représentation de 14 h et 16 h pour celle de 17 h). La navette vous ramènera à la Billetterie satellite tout de suite après le spectacle.

Veuillez noter que le lieu de présentation n’est pas accessible en fauteuil roulant. Nous vous suggérons d'apporter un gilet avec vous à la représentation.

crédits

  • Tedd Robinson Choreographe/Interprète
  • Charles Quevillon Compositeur/Interprète

Liens artiste

En savoir plus :
Menu