A co-presentation of the Canada Dance Festival and Ottawa Dance Directive

ODD is OFF

Ottawa Dance Directive

Photo: Marilou Lépine

ODD’s compelling and daring dance artists perform in a new mixed program presented in partnership with the 2016 Canada Dance Festival, featuring premiers by ODD artistic director Yvonne Coutts, and emerging Montreal-based choreographer Marilou Lépine.

Yvonne Coutts presents Start, a physical and inventive quartet influenced by the colour pink and set in a series of beginnings. Marilou Lépine brings her theatrically absurd cartoon quintet entitled Austin, Grace, and René Ladouceur.

Ottawa Dance Directive / Centre de danse contemporaine (ODD) is a new centre for professional dance, creating a fresh start in Ottawa for contemporary minded artists to investigate dance making, performance and collaboration. Founded by professional dance artists Natasha Bakht, Yvonne Coutts, Sylvie Desrosiers, and Lana Morton, the organization supports innovation in contemporary dance making, in all of its traditions. 

The partnership between the CDF and ODD is long-standing and rooted in a mutual desire to create a supported, invested hub of dance activity in Ottawa for both local and national artists.  Activities co-hosted by both organizations during CDF 2016 include ODD is OFF, performances and the Beaus Festival Bar which is THE place to end your night during the festival.  

Credits

  • Yvonne Coutts Choreographer
  • Marilou Lépine Choreographer
  • Charles Cardin-Bourbeau Performer
  • Jasmine Inns Performer
  • Kay Kenney Performer
  • Fraser Mackinnon Performer
  • Simon Renaud Performer

Artist Links

Venue Partner
Ottawa Dance Directive
Menu

Une coprésentation du Festival Danse Canada et le Centre de danse contemporaine

ODD is OFF

Centre de danse contemporaine

Cour des arts - ODD BOX

Cour des arts - ODD BOX

Photo : Marilou Lépine

Les fascinants et intrépides danseurs de la Compagnie ODD se produisent dans un nouveau programme mixte, présenté en partenariat avec le Festival Danse Canada 2016, regroupant des créations d'Yvonne Coutts, directrice artistique de la compagnie, et de la chorégraphe émergente Marilou Lépine de Montréal.

Yvonne Coutts présente Start, un quartette très physique et inventif, marqué par la couleur rose, où s'enchaînent les  commencements. Marilou Lépine signe, pour sa part, un quintette absurde, théâtral et cartoonesque à souhait, intitulé Austin, Grace et René Ladouceur.

Ottawa Dance Directive / Centre de danse contemporaine (ODD) est un nouveau centre établi à Ottawa qui offre aux professionnels de la danse une occasion de se ressourcer en approfondissant leurs expériences de création, d'interprétation et de collaboration avec d'autres artistes contemporains. Fondée par quatre artistes professionnelles de la danse – Natasha Bakht, Yvonne Coutts, Sylvie Desrosiers et Lana Morton – l'organisation appuie l'innovation en danse contemporaine sous toutes ses formes. 

Partenaires de longue date, le FDC et ODD partagent une volonté commune de créer un foyer d'activité en danse à Ottawa pour les artistes locaux et nationaux. Les activités présentées conjointement par les deux organisations dans le cadre du FDC 2016 sont ODD is OFF, ainsi que des prestations au Beau's Festival Bar – LE lieu où il faut être en fin de soirée pendant le festival.

crédits

  • Yvonne Coutts Choreographe
  • Marilou Lépine Choreographe
  • Charles Cardin-Bourbeau Interprète
  • Jasmine Inns Interprète
  • Kay Kenney Interprète
  • Fraser Mackinnon Interprète
  • Simon Renaud Interprète

Liens artiste

Partenaire diffuseur
Ottawa Dance Directive
Menu