Marta Marta Productions

Speaking in Ligeti

La Nouvelle Scène Gilles Desjardins 333 King Edward Ave., Ottawa
This event has passed
Speaking in Ligeti © Photo: Emily Cooper
“In this profoundly smart production, Carter reflected Ligeti’s broken rhythms in the fractured footwork of dancers Hayden Fong, Delphine Leroux, Nicholas Lydiate, Thoenn Glover, and Heather Laura Gray.” The Georgia Straight

The music of the great Hungarian composer György Ligeti provides the starting point for a dazzling collaboration between contemporary choreographer Martha Carter and Vancouver’s renowned Microcosmos String Quartet. An ensemble of accomplished dancers join forces with the musicians to tackle Ligeti’s Quartet No. 1, creating a dialogue of movement, sound and rhythm that vibrates with contrasts, energy and deep emotion.

The string quartet's presence onstage is intrinsic to the work, as the musicians interact and move with dancers. Carter’s choreography deftly transforms the music’s anguished reflection of war into a radiant celebration of the human intellect and spirit, performed with empathy and commitment.

Recognized for providing audiences with immersive, participatory experiences, Martha Carter’s choreographies draw from ballet, contemporary and urban dance influences. Experimenting with stylistic juxtaposition to find new ways of expressing relevant issues through movement, Marta Marta Productions has become known for their collaborations with other artists, including musicians, composers, filmmakers, photographers, media artists, designers, and more.  

PRESENTING PARTNER:

The Deux Mille Foundation

PRESENTING SPONSOR :

Anndraya Luui

video: Trailer
Trailer
Speaking in Ligeti © Photo: Emily Cooper
Speaking in Ligeti © Photo: Emily Cooper
Speaking in Ligeti © Photo: Emily Cooper
Speaking in Ligeti © Photo: Emily Cooper

Artists

  • Choreographer Martha Carter
  • Music Composer György Ligeti
  • Lighting Design Jason Dubois
Menu

Marta Marta Productions

Speaking in Ligeti

  La Nouvelle Scène Gilles Desjardins 333, av. King-Edward, Ottawa
  La Nouvelle Scène Gilles Desjardins 333, av. King-Edward, Ottawa
[x] Fermer

Speaking in Ligeti

Photo : Emily Cooper

Speaking in Ligeti

Photo: Emily Cooper

Speaking in Ligeti

Photo: Emily Cooper

Speaking in Ligeti

Photo : Emily Cooper

La musique du grand compositeur hongrois György Ligeti sert de point de départ à une étincelante collaboration entre la chorégraphe contemporaine Martha Carter et le célèbre Quatuor à cordes Microcosmos de Vancouver. Un ensemble de danseurs accomplis se joint aux musiciens pour réinterpréter le Quatuor no 1 de Ligeti, produisant un dialogue entre le mouvement, le son et le rythme qui fourmille de contrastes, d'énergie et d'émotion.

La présence du quatuor à cordes sur scène est intrinsèque à l'œuvre elle-même, les musiciens échangeant et bougeant avec les danseurs. La chorégraphie de Martha Carter transforme adroitement l'oppressante méditation sur la guerre qu'exprime la musique en une célébration radieuse de l'intelligence et de l'esprit humain, interprétée avec empathie et engagement.

Connues pour les expériences immersives et participatives qu'elles offrent aux auditoires, les chorégraphies de Martha Carter puisent leurs influences dans le ballet autant que dans les danses contemporaines et urbaines. Juxtaposant les styles pour trouver de nouvelles façons de traiter de sujets pertinents par le mouvement, Marta Marta Productions s'est fait connaître pour ses collaborations avec différents artistes, dont des musiciens, des compositeurs, des cinéastes, des photographes, des artistes en arts numériques, des concepteurs et plus encore. 

PARTENAIRE DIFFUSEUR:

The Deux Mille Foundation

COMMANDITAIRE PRÉSENTATEUR :

Anndraya Luui  

« Dans cette production incisive, [Martha] Carter fait écho aux rythmes syncopés de Ligeti dans le jeu de pieds éclaté des danseurs – Hayden Fong, Delphine Leroux, Nicholas Lydiate, Thoenn Glover et Heather Laura Gray. »

The Georgia Straight

crédits

  • Martha Carter Choreographe
  • György Ligeti
  • Jason Dubois

Liens artiste

En savoir plus :
Menu