50 Dancer Project

Timeframe

NAC Theatre

NAC Theatre

Photo: Geneviève Robitaille

Photo: Geneviève Robitaille

Photo: Geneviève Robitaille

Spanning time from the 15th century to the 1950s, Timeframe weaves together 50 dancers - all recent graduates of Canada’s premier professional dance training programs, sharing in a commencement ceremony like no other. Iconic Canadian choreographer Robert Desrosiers will apply his unique and idiosyncratic vision and imagination to create a map of dance-theatre spectacle, bringing both the artists and audience on a whimsical journey through the ages.

Following the immense success of Tedd Robinson’s 60 Dancer Project, presented at CDF 2014, the festival continues this model of creative partnership between celebrated Canadian choreographers and the leading schools of Canadian contemporary dance.  2016 marks the fifth instalment of the CDF’s national collaboration, providing professional development opportunities for emerging artists, masterclasses with established festival participants, and showcase performances from each of the four contemporary dance-training institutions.

In a career that has spanned over 35 years, Robert Desrosiers has gained international renown as a choreographer of startling imagination and originality. A graduate of the National Ballet School of Canada, he danced with the National Ballet of Canada before his career led to performance and training in France, England, the US and Canada. In 1980 he founded the Toronto-based Desrosiers Dance Theatre, whose award-winning work has been celebrated for its theatricality and unique imagery.

“Using music from different eras, I was inspired to create a dance that travels through the centuries.”

Robert Desrosiers

Credits

  • Robert Desrosiers Choreographer
Learn More:
Menu

Projet 50 danseurs

À Travers Le Temps

Théâtre du CNA

Théâtre du CNA

Photo : Geneviève Robitaille

Photo : Geneviève Robitaille

Photo : Geneviève Robitaille

Embrassant une période qui s'étend du XVe siècle aux années 1950, Timeframe réunit 50 danseurs, tous frais émoulus des plus prestigieux programmes de formation professionnelle en danse offerts au Canada, pour vivre ensemble une collation des grades à nulle autre pareille. L'illustre chorégraphe canadien Robert Desrosiers emploiera son art si personnel et visionnaire à cartographier le spectacle de danse-théâtre, entraînant les artistes et l'auditoire dans une excursion magique à travers les âges.

Dans la foulée de l'immense succès récolté par le 60 Dancer Project de Tedd Robinson, présenté au FDC 2014, le festival poursuit ce modèle de partenariat créatif entre d'éminents chorégraphes canadiens et les principales écoles de danse contemporaine du pays. L'année 2016 marque le cinquième volet de cette collaboration nationale du FDC, offrant des occasions de perfectionnement professionnel aux artistes émergents, des classes de maître animées par des artistes établis à l'affiche du festival, et des vitrines pour chacun des quatre établissements de formation en danse contemporaine reconnus.

En plus de 35 ans de carrière, le chorégraphe Robert Desrosiers s'est imposé sur la scène internationale par son imagination pétillante et l'originalité de sa démarche. Diplômé de l'École nationale de ballet du Canada, il a dansé avec le Ballet national du Canada avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme interprète indépendant, se produisant et se perfectionnant en France, en Angleterre, aux États-Unis et au Canada. En 1980, il a fondé, à Toronto, le Desrosiers Dance Theatre, compagnie primée dont on a salué le sens du théâtre et de l'image.

« Utiliser des musiques de différentes époques m’a donné l’idée de créer une danse qui voyage à travers les siècles. »

Robert Desrosiers

crédits

  • Robert Desrosiers Choreographe
En savoir plus :
Menu