asses.masses

Patrick Blenkarn and Milton Lim Vancouver
  • Creators Patrick Blenkarn and Milton Lim

Labour, technophobia, donkeys, and sharing the load of revolution: asses.masses is a long-form participatory performance that follows the epic journey of unemployed asses as they navigate the perils of a post-Industrial society in which they’ve been made redundant. 

At its core, asses.masses is a custom-made video game designed to be played on stage by a live audience. Brave spectators take turns each night stepping forward from the herd to seize the means of production and become the player. There are no instructions: it is up to the audience and their self-elected leaders to make decisions and play out their version of the game. 

Cheeky, political, and best described as Animal Farm meets Aesop’s Fables retold by Franz Kafka, Karl Marx, and Sonic the Hedgehog, asses.masses puts the control(ler) in the audience’s hands and asks them to discover the space between the work that defines us and the play that frees us. 

Additional information about the project: www.assesmasses.work  

video:

Company

Patrick Blenkarn (he/him) is an artist working at the intersection of performance, game design, and visual art. Frequently making use of interactivity, his research-based practice revolves around the themes of language, labour, and economy, with projects ranging in form from video games and card games to stage plays and books. His work has been featured in performance festivals, galleries, museums, and film festivals across Canada and internationally. He has a degree in philosophy, theatre, and film from the University of King's College and an MFA from Simon Fraser University. His writings on politics and performance have appeared in Performance Matters, Theatre Research in Canada, GUTS, SpiderWebShow, and Canadian Theatre Review. Patrick is also the co-founder of and a key archivist for videocan. 

Milton Lim (he/him) is a Vancouver-based media artist and performance creator. His research-based practice entwines publicly available data, interactive digital media, and gameful performance to create speculative visions and candid articulations of social capital. This line of inquiry aims to reconsider our repertoires of knowledge aggregation and political intervention in the contemporary context of big data and algorithmic culture. His work has been presented across Canada, and internationally in the US, Argentina, the UK, Singapore, and Australia. Milton is a Co-Artistic Director of Hong Kong Exile, Artistic Associate with Theatre Conspiracy, key archivist with videocan, and part of the AI-focussed collective, Synectic Assembly. He was also a recent Sessional Instructor for Simon Fraser University’s theatre program.  

Creative team

  • Creators Patrick Blenkarn and Milton Lim
  • Dramaturg and co-writer Laurel Green
  • Sound designer and composer David Mesiha

National Creation Fund investment

The National Creation Fund’s investment of $113,000 supports the final leg of project development, including the expansion of the creative team to include professional game developers who will help refine visuals and revise programming. The Fund will also be used to translate the English version into French, Spanish, and Portuguese, making it tour-ready across four languages. 

Credits

Developed with support from the Shadbolt Centre for the Arts, The Theatre Centre, BC Arts Council, Canada Council for the Arts, VIVO Media Arts, the Embassy of Canada to Argentina and Paraguay, and the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund. 

Performance dates

February 2023:  World premiere at La Usina del Arte as part of the Festival Internacional de Buenos Aires


Menu

asses.masses

Patrick Blenkarn et Milton Lim Vancouver
  • Création Patrick Blenkarn et Milton Lim

Travail, technophobie, ânes et partage du poids de la révolution sont au cœur d’asses.masses, un spectacle participatif de longue durée, qui nous permet de suivre l’épopée d’ânes au chômage, alors qu’ils affrontent les périls de la société postindustrielle qui les a congédiés. 

En fait, asses.masses est un jeu vidéo conçu sur mesure pour être joué sur scène par le public. Chaque soir, les membres les plus braves de l’auditoire se relaient pour sortir du troupeau et s’emparer des moyens de production en prenant les rênes du jeu. Il n’y a pas de règles :  c’est au public et à ses chefs autoproclamé·e·s de prendre les décisions et de jouer à leur façon.  

Irrévérencieux, politique, et décrit comme un croisement entre La ferme des animaux et les fables d’Ésope qui serait raconté par Franz Kafka, Karl Marx et Sonic le hérisson, asses.masses remet le pouvoir entre les mains du public et leur demande de prendre conscience de l’espace entre le travail qui nous définit et le jeu qui nous libère. 

Pour plus d’information au sujet du projet : www.assesmasses.work. 

video:

Compagnie

L’artiste Patrick Blenkarn (il) s’intéresse à la fois à la performance, la conception de jeux vidéo et l’art visuel. Sa pratique est axée sur la recherche, et ses œuvres, souvent interactives, tournent autour des thèmes de la langue, du travail et de l’économie, et se présentent sous diverses formes : jeux vidéo, cartes de jeux, pièces de théâtre ou livres. Son travail a été présenté dans des festivals de performances, des galeries d’art, des musées et des festivals de films au Canada et à l’international. Il est titulaire d’un diplôme en philosophie, théâtre et cinéma de l’Université de King’s College et d’une maîtrise en beaux-arts de l’Université Simon Fraser. Ses écrits sur la politique et la performance ont été publiés dans Performance Matters, Theatre Research in Canada, GUTS, SpiderWebShow et Canadian Theatre Review. Patrick Blenkarn est aussi cofondateur et archiviste principal de videocan. 

Milton Lim (il), artiste en arts médiatiques et créateur de performances, vit à Vancouver. Dans le cadre de sa pratique axée sur la recherche, il entremêle données publiques, médias numériques interactifs et performances ludiques pour créer des visions spéculatives et des représentations franches du capital social. Son objectif est de reconsidérer nos répertoires d’agrégation de connaissances et d’interventions politiques dans le contexte contemporain, axé sur la culture des mégadonnées et des algorithmes. Son travail a été présenté partout au Canada, et aux États-Unis, en Argentine, au Royaume-Uni, à Singapour et en Australie. Milton Lim est codirecteur artistique de la compagnie Hong Kong Exile, artiste associé au Theatre Conspiracy, archiviste principal de videocan et membre du collectif de recherche sur l’IA, Synectic Assembly. Il a aussi été chargé de cours au programme de théâtre de l’Université Simon Fraser.  

Équipe artistique

  • Création Patrick Blenkarn et Milton Lim
  • Dramaturgie et coécriture Laurel Green
  • Conception sonore et composition David Mesiha

Investissement du Fonds national de création

Le Fonds national de création a investi un montant de 113 000 $ pour soutenir la dernière étape de développement du projet, notamment l’élargissement de l’équipe artistique afin d’y intégrer des développeur·se·s de jeux vidéo qui contribueront à parfaire les éléments visuels du jeu et à revoir sa programmation. Le Fonds permettra aussi à l’équipe de faire traduire la version originale anglaise du spectacle en français, en espagnol et en portugais afin qu’il puisse être présenté en tournée dans ces quatre langues. 

Reconnaissance

Créé avec l’appui du Shadbolt Centre for the Arts, du Theatre Centre, du Conseil des arts de la Colombie-Britannique, du Conseil des arts du Canada, de VIVO Media Arts, de l’ambassade du Canada en Argentine et au Paraguay, et du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts. 

Représentations

Première prévue en février 2023. 


Menu