|

Sanjay Shahani

Edmonton · Alberta

Sanjay Shahani was appointed to the NAC Board of Trustees in October 2018.

Sanjay Shahani has worked in the arts for more than 25 years. He has produced documentaries such as Don't Pity Me, Jaromír Skrivánek, and the series Different, Yet the Same: A Look at Canadian Cultures Today. As a theatre professional he is especially pleased to have contributed to Twisted Metal and Mermaids Tears, a community-engaged, professional theatre work that represented the plurality of South Riverdale in Toronto. As a volunteer, Sanjay has contributed to the growth and development of arts organizations. He is proud of his stint as founding Chair of the Prismatic Arts Festival in Halifax.  

Most recently, Sanjay was the Strategy Lead for Arts and Culture at the Ontario Trillium Foundation, designing the Foundation’s arts and culture investment strategy. Before being appointed to lead the Foundation’s strategy, he oversaw province-wide granting to the sector. Prior to joining the Foundation, Sanjay was a Theatre Officer at the Canada Council for the Arts and Community and Multidisciplinary Arts Officer at the Ontario Arts Council.

He is currently the Executive Director of the Edmonton Arts Council (EAC). Just over 17 months ago, Edmonton City Council directed the EAC to develop the next cultural plan for City. Sanjay in partnership with the Edmonton Heritage Council and Arts Habitat Edmonton, oversaw the building of Connections & Exchanges: A 10-Year Plan To Transform Arts and Heritage In Edmonton. Connections & Exchanges was approved by Edmonton City Council in October 2018.

Sanjay grew up in Bombay, India and has studied and worked in the Czech Republic, the United States of America and Canada.

Menu

|

Sanjay Shahani

Edmonton · Alberta

Sanjay Shahani a été nommé au conseil d’administration du Centre national des Arts (CNA) en octobre 2018.

Sanjay Shahani œuvre dans le monde des arts depuis plus de 25 ans. Il a produit des documentaires, y compris Don’t Pity Me, Jaromír Skrivánek, et la série Different, Yet the Same: A Look at Canadian Cultures Today. Au théâtre, il a contribué à Twisted Metal and Mermaid’s Tears, une exploration théâtrale professionnelle engagée dans la communauté et représentative de la pluralité du quartier South Riverdale de Toronto. En tant que bénévole, M. Shahani a aussi joué un rôle dans l’expansion de diverses organisations artistiques; il est particulièrement fier d’avoir fondé le festival Prismatic Arts à Halifax.

En Ontario, M. Shahani a été responsable des arts multidisciplinaires et de l’engagement dans la communauté au Conseil des arts de l’Ontario et chargé de programme pour le théâtre au Conseil des Arts du Canada. À la Fondation Trillium de l’Ontario, M. Shahani s’est d’abord occupé des subventions accordées pour les arts et la culture à l’échelle de la province; il a ensuite été appelé à diriger la stratégie d’investissement de la Fondation dans ce domaine.

M. Shahani est actuellement directeur général du Conseil des arts d’Edmonton. Mandaté par le conseil municipal pour créer une nouvelle stratégie culturelle pour la ville il y a 17 mois, il a été à la tête du projet Connections & Exchanges: A 10-Year Plan to Transform Arts and Heritage in Edmonton, créé en partenariat avec le Edmonton Heritage Council et Arts Habitat Edmonton. Ce projet vient tout juste de recevoir l’aval du conseil municipal (octobre 2018).

M. Shahani a grandi à Bombay, en Inde, et a étudié et travaillé en République tchèque, aux États-Unis et au Canada.

Menu