|
double bass

Murielle Bruneau

Murielle Bruneau was born in St-Maurice near Trois-Rivières. She has been a member of the National Arts Centre Orchestra since 1989 and has performed as solo double bass with the Orchestra on a number of occasions.

She has appeared as soloist and chamber musician at numerous festivals in Europe and North America and was solo bass of the McGill Chamber Orchestra and the Montreal chamber ensemble La Pieta with whom she made six recordings.

She also plays her 350-year-old double bass with the Chamber Players of Canada on the acclaimed recordings of Schubert's Octet and Trout Quintet, the equally successful 2005 recording of the chamber versions of the Chopin concertos with the renowned pianist Janina Fialkowska, and more recently the works of Eldon Rathburn.

Murielle Bruneau studied at the Conservatoire de musique de Trois-Rivières with Zwislaw Marcinsky, in Rome at Santa Cecilia with Franco Petracchi and in Boston with Larry Wolfe.

She has been a professor at McGill University and at the Conservatoire de Trois-Rivières. She also taught at many other institutions including the University of Montreal and at the Cegep St-Laurent.

Menu

|
contrebasse

Murielle Bruneau

Murielle Bruneau est née à Saint-Maurice, près de Trois-Rivières. Elle fait partie depuis  1989 de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, avec lequel elle a joué comme contrebassiste soliste à plusieurs reprises.

Mme Bruneau s’est produite comme soliste et chambriste dans de nombreux festivals en Europe et en Amérique du Nord. Elle a également été contrebasse solo de l’Orchestre de chambre de McGill et de l’ensemble La Pieta, de Montréal, avec lequel elle a réalisé six enregistrements.

Elle joue par ailleurs sur son instrument de 350 ans avec les Chamber Players of Canada dans un enregistrement salué de l’octuor de Schubert et du quintette La Truite, sur un CD de 2005 tout aussi acclamé présentant des transcriptions pour musique de chambre des concertos de Chopin avec la célèbre pianiste Janina Fialkowska, et plus récemment sur  un disque proposant des œuvres d’Eldon Rathburn.

Mme Bruneau a étudié au Conservatoire de musique de Trois-Rivières avec Zwislaw Marcinsky, au Santa Cecilia de Rome avec Franco Petracchi et à Boston avec Larry Wolfe.

Elle a enseigné à l’Université McGill et au Conservatoire de Trois-Rivières, et a donné des cours dans de nombreux autres établissements, dont l’Université de Montréal et le Cégep Saint-Laurent.

Menu