|
principal harp

Manon Le Comte

At 4 years of age, harpist Manon Le Comte began her musical studies on the recorder, then switched to the harp when she was 11, studying with Dorothy Weldon-Masella at the Conservatoire de musique du Québec in Montreal, where she obtained a Premier prix in 1975. In the summer of 1972 and 1973, she toured with the National Youth Orchestra of Canada.

She has been principal harp with the National Arts Centre Orchestra in Ottawa for nearly 40 years and has been teaching at the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal since 1994. Over the years, she has freelanced mainly in Montreal and Ottawa with a number of orchestras (including the Ottawa Symphony Orchestra, the Montreal Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestre métropolitain, the Société de Musique Contemporaine du Québec et the Nouvel ensemble moderne), in concerts, ballets, operas, shows and recordings (radio, television, records), and occasionally touring in Canada, the United States and Europe. In addition, she has participated in a number of concerts as a chamber musician and soloist with various groups of musicians and several choirs.

She has taught at the Montreal, McGill, Ottawa and Carleton universities. She has also been invited to adjudicate exams and competitions, such as the Canadian Music Competition, the MSO Competition, the Kiwanis Music Festival in Ottawa and the Académie de musique du Québec. In December 2013, she produced her first solo and chamber music CD, "Au fil des cordes", in collaboration with the violonist Olivier Thouin. Then in April 2017 her second CD « Play, sing, dance » came out, this time with the violonist Victor Fournelle-Blain.

Menu

|
harpe solo

Manon Le Comte

La harpiste Manon Le Comte a commencé ses études musicales à l’âge de 4 ans, en flûte à bec,  puis la harpe à 11 ans, avec Dorothy Weldon-Masella, au Conservatoire de musique du Québec à Montréal. En 1975, elle y a obtenu un Premier prix. En 1972 et 1973, elle a participé aux tournées d’été de l’Orchestre national des jeunes du Canada.

Elle est harpe solo à l’Orchestre du Centre National des Arts d’Ottawa depuis près de 40 ans et enseigne au Conservatoire de musique de Montréal depuis 1994. Au fil des ans, elle a aussi joué, en tant que pigiste, avec différents orchestres (comme l’Orchestre Symphonique d’Ottawa, l’Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, l’Orchestre métropolitain, la Société de Musique Contemporaine du Québec et le Nouvel ensemble moderne) lors de concerts, ballets, opéras, spectacles et enregistrements (radio, télévision, disques), principalement à Montréal et Ottawa, et occasionnellement, lors de tournées au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe. Elle s’est également produite comme soliste et chambriste, ainsi qu’avec plusieurs chorales.

Elle a enseigné à l’Université de Montréal, ainsi qu’aux Universités d’Ottawa, McGill et Carleton. Elle a été invitée à siéger à des jurys d’examens et de concours, tels le Concours de Musique du Canada, le Concours de l’OSM, le Festival de musique Kiwanis d’Ottawa et l’Académie de musique du Québec. En décembre 2013, elle a produit son premier CD de répertoire solo et de musique de chambre, "Au fil des cordes", avec la collaboration du violoniste Olivier Thouin, puis en avril 2017, un second CD, « Jouer, chanter, danser », cette fois, avec le violoniste Victor Fournelle-Blain.

Menu