October 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
 |

Louise Sicuro, C.M.

Montréal · Quebec

Louise Sicuro was re-appointed to the National Arts Centre’s Board of Trustees on April 17, 2019.

Ms. Sicuro has dedicated over forty years to the development of arts and culture. She is currently President and CEO of Culture pour tous, a not-for-profit organization she founded 23 years ago to help ensure that arts and culture are valued as essential aspects of individual and collective empowerment. The organization offers awareness and education programming fostering civic engagement.

She is deeply committed to raising awareness about the importance of widespread access to arts and culture. One of her most significant initiatives is the creation of the Journées de la culture, in 1997. Taking place on the last Friday in September and the following weekend every year, the event offers thousands of free, participatory arts and culture events, reaching more than 400 communities in the province of Québec.

An active volunteer, Louise Sicuro currently serves on the board of directors of the Fondation de la Place des Arts, the Fonds de recherche du Québec – Société et culture, and the National Arts Centre. She was a co-founder (2002) of Culture Montréal and served on the organization’s board for 10 years. She was also vice-president of the Université du Québec à Montréal (2012–2015), and a member of the board of the Société de la Place des Arts de Montréal (2002–2016).

She is a member of the research group Observatoire des médiations culturelles, which she co-founded in 2006.

Ms. Sicuro holds a Specialized Graduate Diploma in Cultural Management from Montreal’s HEC Business School, and is also a certified Corporate Director (Collège des administrateurs de sociétés, Université Laval).

She is regularly invited to attend events as a speaker and a panellist, and has been a presenter at conferences across Canada, in France, Austria and Japan.

In 2011, Louise Sicuro was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada in recognition of her dedication to the democratization of culture.

Menu

|

Louise Sicuro, C.M.

Montréal · Québec

Louise Sicuro a été nommée au conseil d’administration du Centre national des Arts le 17 avril 2019.

Louise Sicuro se consacre à l’avancement des arts et de la culture depuis près de 40 ans. Elle a fondé et dirige depuis 23 ans Culture pour tous, un organisme à but non lucratif dont la mission est de contribuer à faire reconnaître les arts et la culture comme facteurs essentiels d’épanouissement par des programmes de sensibilisation et d’éducation favorisant la participation citoyenne.

Elle est profondément engagée à promouvoir l’importance d’un accès généralisé des citoyens aux arts et à la culture. L’une de ses plus importantes initiatives est la création des Journées de la culture qui ont lieu chaque année depuis 1997. Cet événement qui se déroule le dernier vendredi de septembre et les deux jours suivants est l’occasion d’offrir à la population des milliers d’activités gratuites de découvertes des arts et de la culture dans plus de 400 municipalités du Québec.

Bénévole très active, Louise Sicuro est membre des conseils d’administration de la Fondation de la Place des Arts, du Fonds de recherche du Québec / Société et Culture et du Centre national des arts. En 2002, elle cofondait Culture Montréal, dont elle a été élue administratrice pendant 10 ans. Elle a également été vice-présidente de l’Université du Québec à Montréal de 2012 à 2015 et membre du conseil de la Société de la Place des arts de 2002 à 2016.

Elle fait partie de l’Observatoire des médiations culturelles, un groupe de recherche qu’elle a cofondé en 2006.

Elle détient un diplôme d’études supérieures spécialisées (DESS) en gestion des organismes culturels de l’École des Hautes études commerciales (HEC) de Montréal et elle a obtenu le titre d’administratrice de sociétés certifiée (ASC) décerné par le Collège des administrateurs de l’Université Laval.

Elle est régulièrement invitée comme conférencière et panéliste et a fait des allocutions à l’occasion de colloques au Canada, en France, en Autriche et au Japon.

Pour son engagement envers la cause de la culture pour tous, elle a reçu, en 2011, l’insigne de membre de l'Ordre du Canada.

Menu