| Matt Reznek
Artistic Director, Rumble Theatre

Jivesh Parasram

Jivesh Parasram (He/Him/His) is an award winning multidisciplinary artist, community activator, and facilitator of Indo-Caribbean descent. His work has played across Canada, and Internationally.

Jiv grew up in K’jipuktuk (Halifax) and endeavours to split his time between T’karón:to (Toronto) and  the Unceded Coast Salish Territories  (Vancouver). In 2009 he co-founded the award winning collective Pandemic Theatre, and currently holds the position of Artistic Director for Rumble Theatre.

Parasram is a “Dora Mavor Moore” award nominated artist, and the recipient of two “Harold Awards” for his contributions to the Independent Theatre Community of Toronto, including the Ken McDougall Award for Direction.

Internationally he has received a “Herald Angel” from the Edinburgh Fringe for his contributions to the 2018 CanadaHub programming. Jiv was a member of the second cohort of the Cultural Leaders Lab with the Toronto Arts Council and the Banff Centre and was the recipient of the 2018 Toronto Arts Foundation Emerging Artist Award. His play “Take d Milk, nah?” was recently nominated for the Governor General's literary awards.

Menu

|
Directeur artistique, Rumble Theatre

Jivesh Parasram

Jivesh Parasram (il/lui) est un artiste multidisciplinaire, un instigateur de projets communautaires et un animateur d’origine indo-caribéenne lauréat de plusieurs prix. Ses œuvres ont été présentées au Canada et à l’étranger.

Il a grandi à K’jipuktuk (Halifax) et tente de partager son temps entre Tkaronto (Toronto) et le territoire non cédé des peuples salish du littoral (Vancouver). En 2009, il a cofondé le collectif primé Pandemic Theatre et est actuellement le directeur artistique du Rumble Theatre.

Parasram a été en nomination pour le prix Dora Mavor Moore et a reçu deux prix Harold pour ses contributions au milieu du théâtre indépendant de Toronto, y compris le prix Ken McDougall de la mise en scène.

Au niveau international, il a reçu le Herald Angel du festival Fringe d’Édimbourg pour sa contribution à la programmation du CanadaHub de 2018. Jivesh Parasram a participé à la deuxième cohorte du laboratoire des leaders culturels du Conseil des arts de Toronto et du Centre des arts de Banff, et a remporté le prix d’artiste de la relève de la Toronto Arts Foundation en 2018. Sa pièce Take d Milk, nah? a récemment été finaliste aux Prix littéraires du Gouverneur général.

Menu