Galina Yordanova |
Choreographer

Galina Yordanova

Galina Yordanova trained for nine years at Baku in the USSR and for five years with the Bolshoi Ballet where she received her teacher’s diploma in 1960. She held diplomas in Choreography and Teacher Training from the G.I.T.S. in Moscow. In 1960, Madame Yordanova was Ballet Mistress of the Varna Norodna Opera in Bulgaria where she staged a number of classics including Romeo and Juliet, Raymonda, Le Corsaire, Coppélia, Les Sylphides, Giselle and Nutcracker. She has also worked extensively with the Ballet der Deutschen Oper, Berlin and with companies in Madrid and Valencia, Spain and in Nagoya and Kyoto, Japan.

In 1980, Yordanova began to spend a portion of each year in Winnipeg, teaching at the Royal Winnipeg Ballet School’s Professional Division Summer Session. Her expert teaching of the Russian style was an important component of the development of the teaching style of the school.

In 1995, she joined the artistic faculty as resident Guest Teacher. She worked extensively with the RWB dancers to prepare them for the Company’s 1987 premiere of Swan Lake, which she staged in the Russian style. In 1990, Yordanova shared her expertise and talent in the staging of the RWB’s premiere of La Bayadère, Act II, featuring members of the Company together with young artists from the Royal Winnipeg Ballet School.

In celebration of the 25th Anniversary of the RWB School in 1996, she staged Don Quixote, with the School’s entire student body performing alongside Company members who were school graduates in the lead roles.

For the RWB’s 1999–2000 season, Galina Yordanova, along with Nina Menon, choreographed a new version of Nutcracker for the Company which premiered in Ottawa at the NAC on December 2, 1999.

Menu

Galina Yordanova |
Chorégraphe

Galina Yordanova

Galina Yordanova a étudié pendant neuf ans à Bakou, dans l’URSS d’alors, et pendant cinq ans au Ballet Bolchoï, où elle a obtenu son brevet d’enseignante en 1960. Elle détient des diplômes en chorégraphie et en formation des enseignants du G.I.T.S. de Moscou. Dès 1960, Yordanova exerce les fonctions de maîtresse de ballet à l’Opéra Varna Norodna, en Bulgarie, où elle monte plusieurs classiques, tels Roméo et Juliette, Raymonda, Le Corsaire, Coppélia, Les Sylphides, Giselle et Casse-Noisette. Elle travaille également abondamment avec le Ballet de l’Opéra allemand de Berlin et diverses compagnies de danse espagnoles (de Madrid et Valence) et japonaises (de Nagoya et Kyoto).

À partir de 1980, elle passe quelques mois chaque année à Winnipeg; elle y donne des cours pendant la session d’été de la Division professionnelle de l’École du Royal Winnipeg Ballet (RWB). Son enseignement extrêmement solide du style russe contribue grandement à l’élaboration du style de l’École.

En 1995, elle devient membre à temps plein du personnel artistique de l’École, à titre de professeure en résidence. Elle travaille en profondeur avec les danseurs du RWB afin de les préparer en vue de la première du Lac des cygnes, production qu’elle monte en 1987 pour la compagnie, dans le style russe. En 1990, Yordanova met ses connaissances et son talent au service du RWB pour la première de l’Acte II de La Bayadère, mettant en vedette des membres de la compagnie et de jeunes artistes de l’École du Royal Winnipeg Ballet.

En 1996, afin de souligner le 25e anniversaire de l’École du RWB, elle monte Don Quichotte, spectacle auquel tous les élèves participent, aux côtés des danseurs de la compagnie qui sont diplômés de l’École, lesquels tiennent les rôles principaux.

Au cours de la saison 1999–2000 du RWB, Galina Yordanova chorégraphie pour la compagnie, avec Nina Menon, une nouvelle version de Casse‑Noisette qui est créée au CNA le 2 décembre 1999.

Menu