October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
 | Gigi Giannella

Gai Behar

Gai Behar (Tel-Aviv, 1977) has been of wide influence of Tel Aviv’s live music, art and nightlife scenes from 1999 to 2005. He produced live music, underground artistic events and techno raves.

Between 1999-2005 Behar also curated and produced the events Man Without a Shirt in Tel Aviv. The event was co-curated by Uri Katzenstein, and among other included works by Ohad Naharin and Sharon Eyal. Gai produced the second round of Ohad Naharin’s Playback.

In October 2012, Eyal and Behar premiered Untitled Black in collaboration with the GöteborgsOperans Danskompani in Gothenburg, Sweden. In May 2013, they created the ethereal piece Sara for NDT 2. The same year, they launched their dance company L-E-V.

Since L-E-V was founded, the company had more than 180 performances some in the most exclusive venues around the world such as: The Joyce Theatre – NYC; Jacob’s Pillow – Becket, Massachusetts; Sadler’s Wells – London, UK ; The Montpellier Danse Festival – France; Julidans – Amsterdam.

Alongside their work with L-E-V, Eyal and Behar had also been commissioned to create for external companies: the Nederland Dance Theatre’s Sara (2013); Bedroom Folk (2015); Salt Womb (2016), Half-Life for the Royal Swedish Ballet and more.

Menu

| Gigi Giannella

Gai Behar

Gai Behar (Tel-Aviv, 1977) a beaucoup influencé la musique, les arts et la vie nocturne de Tel-Aviv de 1999 à 2005. Il y a produit des spectacles musicaux, des événements artistiques indépendants et des fêtes techno.

Durant cette période, à Tel-Aviv, Behar a également produit et coorganisé avec Uri Katzenstein Man Without a Shirt; des œuvres d’Ohad Naharin et de Sharon Eyal y ont notamment été présentées. Il a aussi produit la deuxième mouture de Playback de Naharin.

En octobre 2012, la première d’Untitled Black de Behar et Eyal a été présentée en collaboration avec la compagnie de danse de l’Opéra de Göteborg (Suède). Le duo a créé Sara en mai 2013, une pièce aérienne pour le NDT 2 et a lancé leur compagnie de danse, L-E-V, la même année.

Depuis sa fondation, la compagnie a donné plus de 180 représentations, dont certaines dans des salles aussi prestigieuses que le Joyce Theatre (New York), le Jacob’s Pillow (Becket, Massachusetts), le Sadler’s Wells (Londres, Royaume-Uni), le Festival Montpellier Danse (France) et le Julidans d’Amsterdam.

En plus de leur travail avec L-E-V, Eyal et Behar ont signé des pièces commandées par d’autres compagnies, y compris Sara pour le Nederlands Dans Theater (2013) ainsi que Bedroom Folk (2015) Salt Womb (2016) et Half-Life pour le Ballet royal de Suède.

Menu