October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Anjali Patil |

Anjali Patil - Festival Producer & Dance Artist

Ottawa · Ontario · Canada

Canadian-born dancer, and choreographer Anjali Patil has been trained in India under renowned masters of Kathak classical Indian dance. She is founder and artistic director of Aroha Fine Arts, one of only a handful of organizations working in the professional Kathak dance milieu.

Anjali has performed her works at noteworthy events - from the Canada Dance Festival to Delhi International Arts Festival, the Junos to International Film Festival of India. A sought after teacher and coach, Anjali teaches in Ottawa,Toronto, India and the Middle East. She was invited as a guest lecturer at the Dance Department of Hyderabad University in India in 2018 and as a panelist at a dance seminar presented by National Centre for Performing Arts in Mumbai, India, in 2019.

In addition to her artistic pursuits, Anjali has a long history in the public sector and cultural policy as an employee of the Department of Canadian Heritage. She holds an M.A. in Public Administration from Carleton University and B.Comm. from University of Ottawa. She launched the annual ArohaFest - Canada’s first bilingual festival celebrating arts of India in Canada to honour Canada’s 150th birthday. Recently, she worked in an international project for award-winning Canadian director Atom Egoyan. She is a recipient of the Corel Endowment for the Arts Award from the Ottawa Arts Council, Chalmers Performing Arts Award, Shastri Indo-Canadian Senior Arts Fellowship and was featured in a Kathak documentary produced by Doordarshan TV India. Anjali has been featured in the Foreign Affairs publication “Canada & South Asia: Partners for the New Century”. Anjali is regularly featured in media and is actively keeping the classical Indian dance scene thriving in Ottawa and beyond.

Menu

Anjali Patil |

Anjali Patil - Productrice du Festival & Artiste de la danse

Ottawa · Ontario · Canada

La danseuse et chorégraphe Anjali Patil, née au Canada, est formée en Inde auprès de maîtres renommés de la danse indienne classique en Kathak. Elle est Fondatrice et Directrice artistique d’Aroha Fine Arts, l’une des rares organisations œuvrant dans le milieu de la danse professionnelle en Kathak.

Anjali a interprété ses œuvres lors de grands événements tels que le Festival de danse Canada, le Festival international des arts de Delhi, les Junos, ainsi que le Festival international du film de l’Inde. Anjali, enseignante et coach recherchée, enseigne à Ottawa, à Toronto, en Inde ainsi qu’au Moyen-Orient. Elle a été invitée en tant que conférencière au département de danse de l’Université d’Hyderabad en Inde en 2018 et en tant que panéliste au séminaire lié à la danse présenté par le Centre national des arts de la scène à Mumbai en 2019.

En plus de ses activités artistiques, Anjali a longuement travaillé dans le secteur public ainsi que de la politique culturelle en tant qu’employée au sein du ministère de Patrimoine Canada. Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise en Administration publique de l’Université Carleton et d’un baccalauréat en Commerce de l’Université d’Ottawa. Elle a mis en place le festival annuel ArohaFest; le premier festival bilingue qui célèbre les arts de l’Inde au Canada, dans le cadre du 150e anniversaire du Canada. Elle a récemment travaillé sur une production internationale pour le réalisateur canadien de grande renommée, Atom Egoyan. Elle est récipiendaire du prix « Corel Endowment for the Arts » décerné par le Conseil des arts d’Ottawa, du « Prix Chalmers des arts de la scènes » ainsi que de la bourse du « Shastri Indo-Canadian Senior Arts Fellowship » . De plus, elle figure dans un documentaire Kathak produit par Doordarshan TV en Inde. Anjali figure dans la publication des affaires étrangères « Le Canada et l’Asie du Sud: des partenaires pour le nouveau siècle » et est régulièrement présentée dans les médias. Elle veille activement sur le succès de la scène de la danse classique indienne à Ottawa et ailleurs.

Menu