|
Second Flute

Emily Marks

Flutist Emily Marks joined the National Arts Centre Orchestra as second flute in September 2002 at the age of 23.

Born and raised in North Vancouver, she studied with Camille Churchfield, principal flute of the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra. She completed her Bachelor of Music degree with distinction at McGill University, where her teachers were Carolyn Christie and Timothy Hutchins of the Montreal Symphony Orchestra. While pursuing a Masters degree at Indiana University studying with Thomas Robertello, she won the job with NACO.

Emily was a member of the National Youth Orchestra of Canada in 2001 and 2002, and toured Europe with the Jeunesses Musicales World Orchestra for three sessions.   Additional summer studies were at the Banff Centre and performing with the National Academy Orchestra in Hamilton, Ont.

Emily is a member of the Ayorama wind quintet, performing educational concerts throughout the Ottawa area, and is a regular participant at the Ottawa Chamber Music Festival.  She has also performed on numerous occasions with Thirteen Strings Chamber Orchestra.

Menu

|
Deuxième flûte

Emily Marks

Emily Marks a été nommée deuxième flûte de l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts en septembre 2002, à l’âge de 23 ans.

Elle est née et a grandi à Vancouver, où elle a étudié avec Camille Churchfield (flûte solo de l’Orchestre symphonique de Vancouver). Emily Smethurst a obtenu un baccalauréat en musique avec mention de l’Université McGill, où lui ont enseigné Carolyn Christie et Timothy Hutchins de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal.   Alors qu’elle préparait une maîtrise à l'Indiana University avec Thomas Robertello, elle obtint le poste avec l’Orchestre du CNA.

Elle a fait partie de l'Orchestre national des jeunes du Canada en 2001 et 2002, et a effectué des tournées en Europe avec l’Orchestre mondial des Jeunesses musicales pendant trois sessions.  L’été, elle étudiait au Banff Centre et jouait avec le National Academy Orchestra à Hamilton (Ontario).

Emily est membre du quintette à vent Ayorama qui donne des concerts éducatifs dans la région d’Ottawa, et participe régulièrement au Festival de musique de chambre d’Ottawa.  Elle s'est aussi produite à plusieurs reprises avec le Thirteen Strings Chamber Orchestra

Menu