Headshot of Cole Alvis © Dahlia Katz

Cole Alvis

Last updated: April 27, 2022

Cole Alvis (she/her) is a 2 Spirit Michif (Métis) artist based in Tkarón:to with Chippewa, Irish and English ancestors from Turtle Mountain. She is one of the leaders of lemonTree creations, manidoons collective, and AdHoc Assembly, and is on the board of the Dancers Of Damelahamid.

Recently, Cole performed in Louis Riel (Canadian Opera Company / National Arts Centre) and directed the Dora-nominated bug by Yolanda Bonnell (manidoons collective / Luminato), Lilies by Michel Marc Bouchard (lemonTree creations / Why Not Theatre / Buddies in Bad Times Theatre) and, alongside fellow Dora-nominated Michael Greyeyes, co-directed an Indigenous opera double bill called Two Odysseys: Pimooteewin / Gállábártnit (Signal Theatre / National Sami Theatre Beaivváš / Soundstreams).

This spring, Cole co-directs, alongside Samantha Brown, White Girls in Moccasins by Yolanda Bonnell, co-produced by manidoons collective and Buddies In Bad Times Theatre, and a digital presentation of the play Toka by Indrit Kasapi, co-produced by lemonTree creations and Theatre Passe Muraille.

Projects & initiatives

Stages of Transformation

This expansive new digital resource brings together artists and creative communities from across so-called Canada to explore the imperatives of abolition movements and their applications to our work in the theatre sector. 

NAC media featuring Cole Alvis

Menu

Cole Alvis | Dahlia Katz

Cole Alvis

Cole Alvis est une artiste bispirituelle métisse originaire de Turtle Mountain, avec des ascendances anglaises, irlandaises et chippewa. Établie à Tkarón:to, elle codirige la compagnie de théâtre lemonTree creations, le collectif manidoons et l’AdHoc Assembly, en plus de siéger au conseil d’administration de la compagnie Dancers Of Damelahamid.

Récemment, Cole Alvis a joué dans l’opéra Louis Riel (Compagnie d’opéra canadienne/Centre national des Arts) et assuré la mise en scène du spectacle solo de Yolanda Bonnell, bug, cité pour un prix Dora (collectif manidoons/Luminato), et de la pièce Lilies de Michel Marc Bouchard (lemonTree creations/Why Not Theatre/Buddies in Bad Times Theatre). Elle a également mis en scène, aux côtés de Michael Greyeyes, finaliste aux prix Dora, l’opéra autochtone Two Odysseys: Pimooteewin / Gállábártnit (Signal Theatre/National Sami Theatre Beaivváš/Soundstreams).

Ce printemps, Cole Alvis cosignera avec Samantha Brown la mise en scène de la pièce White Girls in Moccasins écrite par Yolanda Bonnell et coproduite par le collectif manidoons et le Buddies In Bad Times Theatre, ainsi que la présentation numérique de la pièce Toka d’Indrit Kasapi, une coproduction de lemonTree creations et du Théâtre Passe Muraille.

Menu