Andrew Haji |
Tenor

Andrew Haji

Canada

Andrew Haji, tenor

Canadian tenor Andrew Haji is quickly becoming one of the most sought-after voices on both the operatic and concert stages. Winner of the Grand Prix at the 50th International Vocal Competition in ‘s-Hertogenbosch and the Montreal International Music Competition’s Oratorio Prize, Haji recently performed J.S. Bach’s St. Matthew Passion with the National Arts Centre Orchestra and Handel’s Messiah with the Toronto Symphony Orchestra. Selected recent and upcoming concert engagements include performances of Haydn’s The Creation, Verdi’s Requiem, Puccini’s Messa di Gloria, Orff’s Carmina Burana, Rossini’s Petite messe solennelle, and Mozart’s Requiem, Mass in C Minor, and Coronation Mass. 

Haji is an alumnus of the Canadian Opera Company’s Ensemble Studio and has also been heard at the Four Seasons Centre as Alfredo in La traviata and Tamino in Die Zauberflöte. During his time as a member of the Ensemble Studio, his leading roles included Almaviva in Il barbiere di Siviglia and Ferrando in Così fan tutte. The Salzburg Festival featured Haji in Donizetti’s Lucrezia Borgia, his festival debut. He has also starred as Hélios in Félicien David’s Herculanum at the Wexford Festival and Rodolfo in Puccini’s La bohème for Opera Theatre of Saint Louis.

Andrew Haji holds Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees from the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Music. By invitation, he has participated in young artist programs at the Salzburg Festival Young Singers Project, Centre for Opera Studies in Italy, Music Academy of the West, and Accademia Europea dell’Opera. He has received awards from the Marilyn Horne Song Competition in Santa Barbara and the COC’s annual Ensemble Studio Competition.

Menu

Andrew Haji |
Ténor

Andrew Haji

Canada

Le ténor canadien Andrew Haji prend rapidement sa place parmi les voix les plus sollicitées, tant sur la scène lyrique que dans les salles de concert. Il a remporté le Grand Prix de la 50e édition du Concours international de chant de ‘s-Hertogenbosch et le premier prix dans la catégorie oratorio au Concours musical international de Montréal. Récemment, il a interprété la Passion selon Saint Matthieu de J.S. Bach, accompagné de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, et Le Messie de Handel, accompagné de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto. Parmi ses concerts récents et prévus, on compte La Création de Haydn, le Requiem de Verdi, la Messa di Gloria de Puccini, Carmina Burana d’Ordd, la Petite messe solennelle de Rossini et, de Mozart, le Requiem, la Messe en ut mineur et la Messe du couronnement.

Andrew Haji a fait partie de l’Ensemble Studio de la Compagnie d’opéra canadienne, où il a joué le comte Almaviva dans Le barbier de Séville et Ferrando dans Così fan tutte. Il a aussi incarné Alfredo dans La traviata et Tamino dans La Flûte enchantée au Centre des Quatre Saisons de Toronto. Par ailleurs, il a fait ses débuts dans les festivals en jouant dans Lucrèce Borgia de Donizetti, au Festival de Salzbourg. Il également interprété Hélios dans Herculanum de Félicien David au Festival de Wexford, et Rodolfo dans La bohème de Puccini à l’Opéra théâtre de Saint-Louis.

M. Haji détient un baccalauréat et une maîtrise de la faculté de musique de l’Université de Toronto. Il a participé sur invitation aux programmes destinés aux jeunes artistes du Projet pour jeunes chanteurs du Festival de Salzbourg, du Centre d’études en opéra en Italie, de la Music Academy of the West et de l’Accademia Europea dell’Opera. Il a également reçu différents prix au Concours de chant Marilyn Horne à Santa Barbara et au Concours annuel de l’Ensemble Studio de la COC.

Menu