April 8, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Yefim Bronfman © Frank Stewart
This event has passed
Yefim Bronfman © Frank Stewart

From bold opening chords to dazzling pyrotechnics to soaring melodies, Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto always brings cheering audiences to their feet, especially when superstar pianist Yefim Bronfman is the soloist. Maestro Zukerman and the NAC Orchestra also perform another Tchaikovsky favourite: the emotionally charged Fifth Symphony. Listening to such compelling music, you’ll know that fate has been conquered, as brass fanfares bring home this masterpiece. Canadian composer John Estacio’s Brio, commissioned by the NAC Orchestra, vibrantly raises the curtain on this spectacular concert.


Come celebrate opening night! Following the concert, join us in the main lobby to hear Pinchas Zukerman and Yefim Bronfman talk with Eric Friesen and enjoy a treat, complimentary coffee and tea, and a cash bar.

Opening Night Reception generously supported by

video: Yefim Bronfman on Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 1
Yefim Bronfman on Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 1
video: John Estacio on Brio
John Estacio on Brio
Yefim Bronfman © Frank Stewart