NAC Backstage Access for Culture Days

NAC - various

NAC - various

NAC Production

All events are free, bilingual, available on a drop-in basis and open to all ages except where noted.

Backstage Visits
12:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Enter from Southam Hall Foyer
See the National Arts Centre backstage areas like you’ve never seen them before: up-close and personal! You’ll have access to the NAC stages, dressing rooms, backstage corridors and set-building shops in a self-guided tour.

Développé – photography exhibit
Theatre Foyer
12:00 – 4:00 p.m.
A collaboration pairing emerging photographers from the School of Photographic Arts: Ottawa and dancers at the 2014 Canada Dance Festival.  Presented with the generous support of the NAC and Patrick Gordon Framing.

Photography Workshop
Studio
12:00 – 4:00 p.m.
Bring your camera and learn to shoot dancers in motion with professional photographer and instructor Greg Zenha.  This workshop is held in partnership with the School of the Photographic Arts: Ottawa.

Introduction to printmaking
Salon
12:00 – 4:00 p.m.
Print your own poster with guest artist Guillermo Trejo from the Ottawa School of Art.

Music for Young Children                
Mezzanine
12:00 to 4:00 pm
Music for Young Children's multi-sensory approach to musical learning makes piano lessons fun!  It's the ideal way to learn to play!  Come, find out more and try our interactive activities with musical instruments of all kinds!

Dance Workshops
12:00 – 12:50 p.m. Hip Hop         
1:00 – 1:50 p.m. Bollywood                         
2:00 – 2:50 p.m. Jazz  
3:00 - 4:00 p.m.
Contemporary Dance with Sylvie Desrosiers, Director of The School of Dance Contemporary Dance Programme         
Southam Hall Stage

It’s never too late to learn how to dance!  Come and join us for an intro to dance, where you will learn different dance styles from some of Ottawa’s best dance teachers. NO DANCE EXPERIENCE required; bring comfortable clothes to move in and your dancing feet!

Circus Workshops
Theatre
12:00- 1:00 p.m.
2:00- 3:00 p.m.
Ages 6+
Discover the basics of juggling with artists from CRÉATIONS IN VIVO. With a playful approach based on group and individual exercises, you’ll work with balls, rings and flower sticks, and learn the rudiments of diabolo juggling and dish spinning.


Live Band Karaoke
1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Fourth Stage
You’re the star in this version of karaoke where you’ll be accompanied by a live band of top-notch Ottawa musicians! Choose your favourite selection of jazz standards, musical theatre hits, rock classics, old favorites or kids’ tunes and sing your heart out in the cozy atmosphere of the Fourth Stage cabaret.

Theatre Workshops
Theatre
1:00-2:00 p.m.
3:00- 4:00 p.m.
in English
Get ready to jump start your creativity! Whether you want to start an acting career or just improve your communication skills, join the Ottawa Acting Company’s Chris Ralph and John Muggleton for a fun hour of basic tricks and techniques of the craft. You’ll learn all about risk-taking, character building and expressiveness. Who knows – you might even catch the acting bug!

Atelier de marionettes
Panorama Room
1:00-2:00 p.m.
3:00-4:00 p.m.
Ages 3+
in French
In this workshop for children led by Karine Sauvé, her comical, zany puppets spring to life in their hands. Using simple, original exercises, their imaginations and creativity are given free rein as they animate marionnettes that soon become lively, dynamic characters.

Ottawa Symphony Orchestra Open Rehearsal
15:00 – 16:00
Rehearsal Hall B
Take a sneak peak at the rehearsal work of Ottawa Symphony Orchestra.  Watch  David Currie conduct the string section of the orchestra to prepare their upcoming concert.

Menu

Accès aux coulisses du CNA : La Fête de la culture

CNA - divers

CNA - divers

Production du CNA

Sauf indication contraire, toutes les activités sont gratuites, bilingues, et s’adressent à un public de tous âges.


Visite des coulisses
Entre 12 h – 16 h
Départ : Foyer de la salle Southam
Les coulisses du CNA comme vous ne les avez jamais vues! Une visite privilégiée, à votre gré, des scènes, loges, couloirs, de l’atelier de construction des décors.

Développé – exposition de photos
Foyer du Théâtre
12 h - 16 h
Présentée grâce au généreux soutien du CNA et de Patrick Gordon Framing, cette exposition est le fruit d’une collaboration entre des photographes émergents de la School of Photographic Arts d’Ottawa et des interprètes de l’édition 2014 du Festival Danse Canada.

 

Atelier de photographie
Studio
12 h – 16 h
Apportez votre caméra et venez apprendre à capter des danseurs en action avec le photographe professionnel et instructeur Greg Zenha. Atelier offert en partenariat avec la School of the Photographic Arts d’Ottawa.

Initiation à la gravure d’art 
Salon
12 h – 16 h
Imprimez votre propre affiche avec l’artiste invité Guillermo Trejo, de l’École d’art d’Ottawa.  

Musique pour jeunes enfants  
Mezzanine
12 h – 16 h
L’approche multisensorielle à la formation musicale du programme Musique pour Jeunes Enfants rend l’apprentissage du piano amusant! C’est la manière idéale de jouer! Venez en découvrir plus, et essayez nos activités interactives avec des instruments musicaux de tout genre!

 

 Ateliers de danse
Scène de la salle Southam
12 h – 12 h 50 Hip-hop
13 h – 13 h 50 Bollywood
14 h – 14 h 50 Jazz
15 h - 16 h Atelier de danse contemporaine avec Sylvie Desrosiers, directrice du Programme de danse contemporaine de la School of Dance

Il n’est jamais trop tard pour apprendre à danser! Participez à l’un ou l’autre de ces ateliers qui vous permettront de vous initier à différents styles auprès de certains des meilleurs professeurs d’Ottawa. AUCUNE EXPÉRIENCE REQUISE en danse; apportez des vêtements confortables et entrez dans la danse!

Ateliers de cirque
Théâtre
12 h – 13 h
14 h – 15 h
Pour les 6 ans et +
Venez découvrir les bases de la jonglerie avec les artistes de CRÉATIONS IN VIVO.  À partir de jeux de groupe et individuels, vous travaillerez avec des balles, des anneaux, et découvrirez les rudiments du Diabolo, des assiettes chinoises et des bâtons-fleurs.

Karaoké avec orchestre en direct
Quatrième salle
13 h – 16 h
C’est vous l’artiste dans ce karaoké bien spécial où vous ferez sensation avec, à vos côtés, de super musiciens d’Ottawa! Choisissez votre propre répertoire parmi les grands classiques du jazz, de la comédie musicale, du rock, les grands succès d’autrefois ou encore les chansons célèbres pour enfants, et laissez s’exprimer votre talent dans l’ambiance cabaret de la Quatrième Salle.

Ateliers de théâtre
Théâtre
13 h – 14 h
15 h – 16 h
En anglais 
Vous rêvez d’une carrière d’acteur ou souhaitez tout simplement améliorer vos aptitudes à communiquer? Laissez s’exprimer votre créativité en compagnie de Chris Ralph et de John Muggleton de l’Ottawa Acting Company dans un atelier d’initiation à l’art dramatique où vous apprendrez  comment prendre des risques, construire et s’approprier un personnage. Qui sait? Vous pourriez attraper la piqûre du jeu!  

Ateliers de marionnettes
Salle Panorama
13 h – 14 h
15 h – 16 h
Pour les 3 ans et +
En français
Au cours de cet atelier offert par Karine Sauvé, les enfants verront naître sur leurs mains des marionnettes loufoques et rigolotes dessinées par l’artiste.  À l’aide d’exercices simples et originaux, ils laisseront libre cours à leur imagination et à leur créativité en animant ces personnages-marionnettes, en leur donnant doucement vie.
 

Répétition de l’Orchestre symphonique d’Ottawa ouverte au public
De 15 h à 16 h
Salle de répétition B
Venez voir l’Orchestre symphonique d’Ottawa répéter en arrière-scène! David Currie dirige la section des cordes de l’ensemble dans une répétition de leur prochain concert. 

Menu