Rant Maggie Rant: Frost and Fire, A Celtic Christmas Celebration

NAC Fourth Stage

NAC Fourth Stage

[x] Close

Rant Maggie Rant

Terry Manzo

NAC Presentation

Since their debut in 2008, RANT MAGGIE RANT has consistently won over audiences at festivals, folk clubs, town halls, churches, concert halls and symphonic stages. The original goal was to take traditional Celtic music as the foundation, then liberally and unapologetically colour outside the prescribed lines. In a nut-shell, have fun!

Traditionalists love their approach, as they respect the time honoured styles. Drawing on the music from the seven Celtic nations, the obvious Ireland, Scotland, Cornwall, Wales, and the lesser known Isle of Mann, Galicia (Spain) and Brittany (France), as well as from Quebec and Canada's East Coast, new Celtic music listeners are drawn to RANT MAGGIE RANT's fusion of World influences. The ensemble moves effortlessly from Irish jigs to Galician munieras, from Scottish marches to Breton an dros, driving them with Latin and Mediterranean rhythms, African hand drumming and percussion, blues/rock guitar backdrops, revved up tempos, unexpected time changes, and a unique rhythmic attack. Their repertoire combines contemporary compositions with traditional tunes, often blending them together to deliver an intoxicating performance.

Based in Stratford, Ontario, RANT MAGGIE RANT showcases the talents of:

Lindsay Schindler (fiddle, vocals)
Glen Dias (lead vocals, recorder and incidental percussion)
Barry James Payne (acoustic guitar, vocals)

RANT MAGGIE RANT always engages other musicians to round out their sound depending on the occasion and requirement. Joining the band on their most recent and upcoming shows are special guests: original member Rob Larose (drums & percussion), Steve Clarke (electric and upright bass) and Daev Clysdale (Irish Flute, whistles, accordion). RMR have also engaged the talents of Graham Hargrove (drums & percussion), Loretto Reid (Irish Flute, whistles, concertina & button accordion), Dave Nuttall (Irish whistles and wind instruments) and Pat O’Gorman (pipes, Irish flute and whistles).

Menu

Rant Maggie Rant Noël celtique sous la neige et au coin du feu

Quatrième Salle du CNA

Quatrième Salle du CNA

[x] Fermer

Rant Maggie Rant

Terry Manzo

Présentation du CNA

Depuis ses débuts en 2008, le groupe RANT MAGGIE RANT captive ses auditoires partout où il va : festivals, clubs folkloriques, hôtels de ville, églises, salles de concert et scènes symphoniques. Ses membres brillent par l’originalité de leur style haut en couleur qui capture l’essence de la musique celtique traditionnelle dans un mélange sans complexe qui a tout pour divertir!  

Les plus traditionnels d’entre nous trouvent leur compte dans les airs folkloriques du groupe, où transparaissent les musiques des sept nations celtiques, dont l’Irlande, l’Écosse, Cornouailles et le pays de Galles, ainsi que les régions moins connues de la Bretagne (France), l’île de Man et la Galice (Espagne), sans oublier le Québec et la côte est du Canada. Les nouveaux initiés au style celtique sont aimantés par RANT MAGGIE RANT et sa fusion de rythmes du monde. Et pour cause! Les artistes enchaînent avec fluidité gigues irlandaises, munieras de Galice, marches écossaises et danses bretonnes an dro sur des rythmes latinos et méditerranéens qui s’accordent au son de percussions et de tambours africains dans un amalgame mélodieux chevauchant les époques. En arrière-plan, la guitare mêle ses airs de blues et de rock à un tempo endiablé, ponctué d’explosions de rythmes inhabituels. Le groupe présente un mélange enivrant de styles empruntant aussi bien aux musiques contemporaines que traditionnelles.        
Prenant pour port d’attache la ville de Stratford, en Ontario, RANT MAGGIE RANT est formé de :

Lindsay Schindler (violon, voix)
Glen Dias (voix principale, flûte à bec et percussion)
Barry James Payne (guitare acoustique, voix)

Pour compléter le groupe, des musiciens sont invités à se joindre au trio selon l’occasion et le besoin. Dans le cadre de récents concerts et de prestations à venir, le groupe a lancé l’invitation aux interprètes suivants : Rob Larose (membre original du groupe, batterie, percussion), Steve Clarke (basse électrique, contrebasse), Daev Clysdale (flûtes irlandaises, accordéon), Graham Hargrove (batterie, percussion), Loretto Reid (flûtes irlandaises, concertina, accordéon à boutons), Dave Nuttall (flûtes irlandaises, instruments à vent) et Pat O’Gorman (cornemuse, flûtes irlandaises).

Menu