DECLARATION

NAC Salon

NAC Salon

Santee Smith in Declaration

ARTICLE 11

Tara Beagan and Andy Moro, ARTICLE 11

Monique Mojica

Photo: Ric Knowles

Raven Kanatakta and ShoShona Kish

DECLARATION is a celebration of Indigenous peoples’ right to engage in the creation and evolution of arts and culture, as asserted in Article 11 of the 2007 United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. Created by Toronto-based ARTICLE 11, DECLARATION is an immersive, live, sound and image installation and performance-creation lab. It offers the rare opportunity to witness established Indigenous artists mid-process as they take risks and explore new approaches and collaborations in a responsive, interdisciplinary environment.

ARTICLE 11 founders/directors TARA BEAGAN (Ntlaka’pamux/Irish) and ANDY MORO (Euro/Cree) have both been named among NOW Magazine’s top 10 theatre artists. Beagan is a widely produced writer, performer, and director, and a former playwright-in-residence at the National Arts Centre. Moro is an internationally recognized set, lighting, and projection designer and a core member of the creative team at the Banff Centre for the Arts’ Indigenous Dance Residency.

SANTEE SMITH is Onkwehon:we from the Mohawk Nation, Turtle Clan from Six Nations of the Grand River. She is a multi-award-winning, multidisciplinary artist and the founder/director of Kaha:wi Dance Theatre.

RAVEN KANATAKTA and SHOSHONA KISH, the dynamic songwriters behind JUNO Award-winners DIGGING ROOTS, bring stunning guitar playing and soulful vocals to roots, blues, and more. AANMITAAGZI (He/She Speaks), co-founded and directed by PENNY COUCHIE and SID BOBB, supports a thriving arts community in Nipissing First Nation and surrounding communities.

MICHELLE LATIMER is an accomplished Métis/Algonquin filmmaker, actor, and curator whose work has been described as “visual poems exploring humanity.” MONIQUE MOJICA is a Kuna and Rappahannock actor and playwright based in Toronto. Her published plays include Princess Pocahontas and the Blue Spots and Birdwoman and the Suffragettes. JESSE WENTE (Ojibwe) is seen regularly on TVOntario’s Saturday Night at the Movies, and is the director of film programming at TIFF Bell Lightbox.

Detailed schedule

Credits

  • Produced by ARTICLE 11
  • Created by Andy Moro
  • and Tara Beagan
  • Guest artists Santee Smith
    Raven Kanatakta
    ShoShona Kish
    Aanmitaagzi
    Michelle Latimer
    Monique Mojica
    Jesse Wente
Menu

DECLARATION

Salon du CNA

Salon du CNA

Santee Smith à Declaration

ARTICLE 11

Tara Beagan et Andy Moro, ARTICLE 11

Monique Mojica

Photo : Ric Knowles

Raven Kanatakta et ShoShona Kish

DECLARATION témoigne du droit des peuples autochtones de s’engager dans la création et l’évolution des arts et de la culture, inscrit à l’article 11 de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones de 2007. Créée par ARTICLE 11 de Toronto, DECLARATION est une installation visuelle et acoustique et un laboratoire de création et de performance offrant une rare occasion d’observer la démarche d’artistes autochtones établis, et leurs explorations de nouvelles approches et collaborations dans un environnement interdisciplinaire réceptif.

Les directeurs fondateurs d’ARTICLE 11, TARA BEAGAN (Ntlaka’pamux/Irlandaise) et ANDY MORO (Européen/Cri), ont tous deux figuré au palmarès des 10 plus grands artistes de théâtre de la revue NOW. Auteure dont les œuvres sont souvent produites, interprète et metteure en scène, Beagan a été dramaturge en résidence au Centre national des Arts. Moro est un scénographe et concepteur d’éclairages et de projections de renommée mondiale, et un membre clé de l’équipe de création de l’Indigenous Dance Residency du Banff Centre for the Arts.

SANTEE SMITH est Onkwehon:we et appartient au clan de la tortue de la Nation mohawk des Six-Nations de la rivière Grand. Elle est une artiste multidisciplinaire plusieurs fois primée, directrice fondatrice du Kaha:wi Dance Theatre.

RAVEN KANATAKTA et SHOSHONA KISH, les dynamiques auteurs-compositeurs derrière DIGGING ROOTS (prix JUNO), campent leur jeu de guitare inouï et leurs voix inspirées dans le trad, le blues et autres styles. AANMITAAGZI (Il/Elle parle), fondé et dirigé par PENNY COUCHIE et SID BOBB, soutient une communauté artistique florissante dans la Première Nation de Nipissing et les environs.

MICHELLE LATIMER est une cinéaste, actrice et conservatrice métisse algonquine de talent dont l’œuvre a été décrite comme des « poèmes visuels qui explorent l’humanité ». MONIQUE MOJICA est une comédienne et auteure d’origine Kuna et Rappahannock établie à Toronto. Ses pièces de théâtre publiées comprennent Princess Pocahontas and the Blue Spots et Birdwoman and the Suffragettes. JESSE WENTE (Ojibwe), figure régulière de l’émission Saturday Night at the Movies de TVOntario, est directeur de la programmation des films du Bell Lightbox présentés au Festival international du film de Toronto.

Horaire détaillée

crédits

  • Une production de ARTICLE 11
  • Création Andy Moro
  • et Tara Beagan
  • Artistes invités Santee Smith
    Raven Kanatakta
    ShoShona Kish
    Aanmitaagzi
    Michelle Latimer
    Monique Mojica
    Jesse Wente
Menu