Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend

BioART: Collaborating with Life

Karsh-Masson Gallery

Karsh-Masson Gallery

Alana Bartol, <i>Un-Camouflaging #7</i> from the series <i>Forms of Awareness: Ghillie Suit</i>, netting, synthetic fiber, weeds, and grasses common to Southwestern Ontario.

Alana Bartol, Un-Camouflaging #7 from the series Forms of Awareness: Ghillie Suit, netting, synthetic fiber, weeds, and grasses common to Southwestern Ontario.

Courtesy of the artist. Photo: Arturo Herrera

A lawn that mows itself, human cells co-cultured with apple cores, a feminist re-interpretation of military camouflage, and the ultimate locavore culinary experience: what do they have in common? They’re all artworks in BioART: Collaborating with Life.

For millennia, human notions of beauty have spontaneously arisen from our interaction with the natural world, revealed in cave paintings, rituals, food culture, body art, and, more recently, biological arts. Bioart includes a diverse range of practices from the lab, the wilderness, and cities, using cells, microbes, plants, and, by some definitions, bodies (human and otherwise) in the production of art.

Featuring Ontario artists whose practices merge with life sciences and biotechnology, BioART will engage you in an evaluation of bioethics that results from the manipulation of life for human and cultural ends.

Credits

  • Artists Karen Miranda Abel
    Alana Bartol
    Philip Beesley
    Robert Hengeveld
    Andrew Pelling
    Johl Ringuette
    Jennifer Willet
  • Curated by Jennifer Willet

Artist Links

Artengine-web
Incubator-web
Karshmasson-web

BioART : Collaborer avec la vie

Galerie Karsh-Masson

Galerie Karsh-Masson

Alana Bartol, Un-Camouflaging #7 de la série Forms of Awareness: Ghillie Suit, filet, fibre synthétique, herbe et mauvaises herbes communes au sud-ouest de l'Ontario.

Gracieusesté de l'artiste. Photo: Arturo Herrera

Qu’ont en commun une pelouse autotondante, des cellules humaines cultivées avec des cœurs de pommes, une réinterprétation féministe du camouflage militaire, et l’expérience culinaire locavore ultime? Ce sont toutes des œuvres d’art figurant dans l’exposition BioART : Collaborer avec la vie.

De tout temps, nos critères de beauté ont émané spontanément de notre interaction avec le monde naturel, comme le révèlent les peintures rupestres, les rituels, la culture alimentaire, l’art corporel et, plus récemment, les arts biologiques. Le bioart regroupe une variété de pratiques issues du laboratoire et de la nature sauvage, qui exploitent des cellules, des micro-organismes, des plantes, et selon certaines définitions, des corps (humains et autres) pour produire des œuvres d’art.

Rassemblant des artistes ontariens dont les pratiques fusionnent l’art avec les sciences de la vie et la biotechnologie, BioART nous projette dans le débat bioéthique, agité de la question de savoir s’il est légitime de manipuler la vie à des fins culturelles. 

crédits

  • Artistes Karen Miranda Abel
    Alana Bartol
    Philip Beesley
    Robert Hengeveld
    Andrew Pelling
    Johl Ringuette
    Jennifer Willet
  • Commissaire Jennifer Willet

Liens artiste

Artengine-web
Incubator-web
Karshmasson-web
Menu