Michael DeForge: All Dogs Are Dogs

Galerie SAW Gallery

Galerie SAW Gallery

Gum Heel, Michael DeForge

SAW GALLERY presents Michael DeForge: All Dogs Are Dogs, an expansive presentation of MICHAEL DEFORGE’s work that marks the artist’s first major survey exhibition. Originally from Ottawa, DeForge has produced an idiosyncratic body of work that has established him as a generation-defining voice in alternative comics.

Moving across disciplines, All Dogs Are Dogs brings to life a hallucinatory world of degenerate creatures caught in existential quagmires. The exhibition comprises large-scale drawings and sculptures, prints, graphic novels, a limited-edition chapbook, and a comic-strip mural commission on SAW’s façade.

Presented in partnership with OTTAWA EXPLOSION WEEKEND and BRUISED TONGUE RECORDS, the exhibition’s opening party, Next Wave:  Ottawa Music Spotlight, will feature some of Ottawa’s most exciting new bands and DJs.

[Michael Deforge] warps and dents the assured, geometrical forms of vintage newspaper strips and new wave-era graphics into oddly adorable horrors.

The New York Times

Credits

  • Artist Michael DeForge
  • Curated by Jason St-Laurent

Artist Links

Saw-web
Menu

Michael DeForge : Tous les chiens sont des chiens

Galerie SAW Gallery

Galerie SAW Gallery

Gum Heel, Michael DeForge

La GALERIE SAW présente Michael DeForge : Tous les chiens sont des chiens, première rétrospective majeure de l’œuvre de l’artiste. La démarche singulière de DeForge, originaire d’Ottawa, l’a érigé au rang d’icône de toute une génération de bédéistes alternatifs.

Chevauchant les disciplines, Tous les chiens sont des chiens donne vie à un monde hallucinant de créatures dégénérées, prisonnières de bourbiers existentiels. L’exposition comprend des dessins et sculptures grand format, des gravures, des romans en images, un livre de colportage à tirage limité et une bande dessinée murale sur la façade de la galerie.

Présenté en partenariat avec OTTAWA EXPLOSION WEEKEND et BRUISED TONGUE RECORDS, l’événement-vernissage de l’exposition, Pleins feux sur la musique indie d’Ottawa,  mettra en vedette de jeunes formations et des DJ parmi les plus électrisants d’Ottawa.

[Michael Deforge] crée des horreurs curieusement adorables à partir de vieilles découpures de journaux aux formes géométriques bien définies et de motifs graphiques nouveau genre qu’il entaille et dénature.

The New York Times

crédits

  • Artiste Michael DeForge
  • Commissaire Jason St-Laurent

Liens artiste

Saw-web
Menu