Good Afternoon

May 9, 2015, 12:00pm Carleton University Art Gallery

Carleton University Art Gallery

Bridget Moser, <i>Nervous System</i>

Bridget Moser, Nervous System

Yuula Benivolski, courtesy of Doored.

Lisa Myers, <em>Shore Lunch</em>, 2014. Installation at Harbourfront Centre.

Lisa Myers, Shore Lunch, 2014. Installation at Harbourfront Centre.

Keesic Douglas

Adam Saikaley, Solo performance at the Ottawa Art Gallery, May 2013.

Adam Saikaley, Solo performance at the Ottawa Art Gallery, May 2013.

Sacha Vreca

Jenn Goodwin and Camilla Singh, <em>MORTIFIED (Eatin&rsquo; Dust)</em>, 2012. Detail of performance.

Jenn Goodwin and Camilla Singh, MORTIFIED (Eatin&rsquo; Dust), 2012. Detail of performance.

Gloria Nieto

Christof Migone, <em>Hit Parade (Milan),</em> 2014. Detail of performance.

Christof Migone, Hit Parade (Milan), 2014. Detail of performance.

videorize

12:00–14:00  Banks of the Rideau River, Carleton University

14:00–16:00  Carleton University Architecture Building, in The Pit

Looking for an unusual and Good Afternoon? Welcome to CARLETON UNIVERSITY ART GALLERY’s performance art event, featuring a compelling roster of multidisciplinary performance artists from Ontario.

12:00–14:00 Food for thought will be provided by the gastronomically inclined LISA MYERS (Port Severn), who blends her experience as an Anishinaabe artist, musician, and chef. Myers will set up camp between the River Building and the Rideau River on Carleton University campus. Drop in to her site-specific installation, called Shore Lunch, to share a snack of wild rice and to acknowledge how particular places can provide diverse kinds of sustenance.

14:00 Your Good Afternoon continues in the Architecture Building, with performances by Christof Migone, Mortified, Bridget Moser, and Adam Saikaley.

First up is the captivating BRIDGET MOSER (Toronto). She delivers singular performances suspended between prop comedy, performance art, existential anxiety, and intuitive dance. Digging deep into the funny, Moser skews everyday objects to create new systems of logic.

Then, ADAM SAIKALEY (Ottawa) will meddle with a no-input mixer and a speaker cone to create a textural, pulsating sound that is consistently moving. A musician, pianist, composer, and DJ, Saikaley’s music is not classical, jazz, or electronic, but something of all three.

Next up are Camilla Singh and Jenn Goodwin, visual artist and choreographer respectively. Together they are MORTIFIED (Toronto). Adopting the format of a band to encompass a range of activities, they create a sonic experience through movement and mayhem. Their performance will result in a “concert” that explores aggression and enthusiasm, kindness and rage, and pride and regret – through tap dancing, cheerleading, and drumming.

Finally, the always provocative CHRISTOF MIGONE (Toronto) will delve into the space between language and voice to focus on the sounds hidden in minutiae. His current research includes microphone hitting, book flipping, phone licking, and silence listening.

Cuag-web

Bon après-midi

Galerie d’art de l’Université Carleton

Galerie d’art de l’Université Carleton

Bridget Moser, Nervous System

Yuula Benivolski, gracieusesté de Doored.

Lisa Myers, Shore Lunch, 2014. Installation au Harbourfront Centre.

Keesic Douglas

Adam Saikaley, performance solo à la Galerie d’art d’Ottawa, mai 2013

Sacha Vreca

Jenn Goodwin et Camilla Singh, MORTIFIED (Eatin’ Dust), 2012. Détail de la performance.

Gloria Nieto

Christof Migone, Hit Parade (Milan), 2014. Détail de la performance.

videorize

12:00–14:00  Rive de la rivière Rideau, Université Carleton 

14:00–16:00  École d’architecture de l’Université Carleton, The Pit 

Vous vous sentez d’humeur à passer un Bon après-midi inhabituel? Bienvenue à la performance artistique de la GALERIE D’ART DE L’UNIVERSITÉ CARLETON, un événement qui met à l’honneur une captivante brigade multidisciplinaire d’artistes de la scène de l’Ontario.

12:00–14:00 L’épicurieuse LISA MYERS (Port Severn) offre matière à réflexion en combinant son expérience d’artiste anishinaabe, musicienne et chef cuisinière. Elle établit son campement sur le campus de l’Université Carleton, entre le pavillon River et la rivière Rideau. Passez voir son installation in situ, appelée Shore Lunch. Vous pourrez y goûter son riz sauvage et constater comment chaque terroir est fertile en denrées diverses.

14:00 Votre Bon après-midi se poursuit à l’École d’architecture avec des performances de Christof Migone, Mortified, Bridget Moser et Adam Saikaley.

En entrée, la captivante BRIDGET MOSER (Toronto) livre des performances singulières errant entre le sketch avec accessoires, l’art performance, l’angoisse existentielle et la danse intuitive. L’artiste, qui ne badine pas avec le rire, dénature des objets de la vie courante pour créer de nouveaux systèmes de logique.

Puis, ADAM SAIKALEY (Ottawa) s’affaire à produire une onde incessante de sons texturés et scandés à l’aide d’une table de mixage et d’un cône diffuseur. Ce musicien, pianiste, compositeur et DJ crée des œuvres qui se situent quelque part entre le classique, le jazz et la musique électronique.

Arrivent ensuite Camilla Singh et Jenn Goodwin, respectivement artiste visuelle et chorégraphe, qui forment ensemble MORTIFIED (Toronto). Les deux comparses privilégient le mouvement et le grabuge comme modes d’expression pour créer une expérience sonore. Leur « concert » explore divers thèmes : agression et enthousiasme, bonté et rage, fierté et regret, tout cela évoqué par la danse à claquettes, des numéros de meneuses de claques et de tambours.    

Et pour dessert, l’agent provocateur CHRISTOF MIGONE (Toronto) plonge dans l’univers du langage et de la voix pour relever les plus menus détails de ce qui se cache derrière les sons. Dans sa recherche actuelle, il tape sur des microphones, feuillette des livres en accéléré, lèche des téléphones et écoute le silence.

Cuag-web
Menu