Propeller Dance

FLESH AND SPOKES

May 8 - 9, 2015 Great Canadian Theatre Company

Great Canadian Theatre Company

Propeller Dance

Propeller Dance

Photo: Chrystia Chudczak

Propeller Dance

Propeller Dance

Photo: Chrystia Chudczak

FLESH AND SPOKES is a contemporary dance performance in which skin and compressed metal combine to create an emotive and powerful testament to the real human experience. If art is meant to say something about life and our humanity, then PROPELLER DANCE is a true reflection of the world. Believing that disability is merely a different life experience, rather than a limitation or lack of ability, Propeller Dance knows that if you can breathe, you can dance.

Experience the power and beauty of Ontario’s only integrated contemporary dance company, whose sole mandate is to create, teach, perform, and present innovative and inclusive dance creations. This unique dance experience is a collaboration with guest musician and composer JESSE STEWART (continuing his week-long residency at Ontario Scene), and features performances by dancers of diverse minds and bodies, set to invigorating live original music by Jesse, MIKE ESSOUDRY and MARK REHDER.

Presented by GCTC in association with the NAC’s Ontario Scene.

Please note that dancers from Propeller Dance’s Monday night classes will perform on May 8th, while dancers from the Wednesday night classes will perform on May 9th. Dancers from the professional company will perform on both evenings.

Credits

  • Choreography by Renata Soutter
  • and Shara Weaver
  • Performers Sylvain Bouchard
    Bella Bowes
    Robert Chartier
    Amelia Griffin
    Moni Hoffman
    Jessie Huggett
    Renata Soutter
    Shara Weaver
    Liz Winkelaar
    and dancers of the adult dance training program / et danseurs du programme de formation pour adultes de la compagnie
Propellerdance-web
Gctc-web

Propeller Dance

FLESH AND SPOKES

8 - 9 mai 2015 Great Canadian Theatre Company

Great Canadian Theatre Company

Propeller Dance

Propeller Dance

Photo: Chrystia Chudczak

Propeller Dance

Propeller Dance

Photo: Chrystia Chudczak

FLESH AND SPOKES est une performance de danse contemporaine dans laquelle la peau et le métal comprimé font corps pour offrir un témoignage vibrant d’émotion de l’expérience humaine, au sens réel. Si l’art est censé être une représentation de ce qu’est la vie et l’expérience humaine, alors PROPELLER DANCE en est une parfaite illustration. abordant les handicaps non pas comme des limitations mais comme des façons d’être différentes, Propeller Dance soutient que si on peut respirer, on peut danser.

Toute la puissance et la beauté de la seule compagnie de danse contemporaine avec une approche holistique en Ontario réside dans son mandat: création, enseignement, interprétation et innovation dans un contexte d’inclusion. Fruit d’une collaboration avec le musicien et compositeur JESSE STEWART (en résidence une semaine durant la Scène Ontario), cette oeuvre unique met en vedette des danseurs aux capacités physiques et mentales diverses, évoluant sur des musiques originales vivifiantes de stewart, mais aussi de MIKE ESSOUDRY et MARK REHDER, interprétées en direct.

Une présentation de la GCTC en association avec la Scène Ontario du CNA.

Nota : La représentation du 8 mai mettra à l’honneur des élèves de la classe du lundi soir de Propeller Dance; celle du 9 mai présentera des élèves de la classe du mercredi soir. Des interprètes professionnels de la compagnie seront en vedette les deux soirs.

crédits

  • Chorégraphie Renata Soutter
  • et Shara Weaver
  • Interprètes Sylvain Bouchard
    Bella Bowes
    Robert Chartier
    Amelia Griffin
    Moni Hoffman
    Jessie Huggett
    Renata Soutter
    Shara Weaver
    Liz Winkelaar
    and dancers of the adult dance training program / et danseurs du programme de formation pour adultes de la compagnie
Propellerdance-web
Gctc-web